Awash with gush

She shifted the blue car into fourth and glanced down across the lower slopes of the mountain and across the bay, and thought ‘Fuck, that’s beautiful.’

It was her favourite time of day. When the land and the light is so vivid it seems to glow.

The mountains etched in deep relief with amber and amethyst. The sea flat; polished lapis lazuli. The city lines soft and shining with the reflected sun.

She smiled, unclenched her hands from the wheel. Relaxed against the seat. Opened the window to feel the wind in her hair. And as the first indigo of dusk deepened the sky and the night began to rise across the flat lands, she sighed and was glad that she lived here.

10 thoughts on “Awash with gush

  1. andreas says:

    The Mountain, man. Where else could it be? Underberg?

    But Jo’burg’s beautiful too…

    Like when I’m driving home and the stream of cars are coming towards me with their single occupants…through the windscreens I see pale disembodied heads floating in glass boxes…and the street children blowing their glue breath out in a ragged fog…and then the billboard lights come on and I’m reminded to submit my tax return by 14 July…It’s special.

  2. dolce says:

    Jo’burg summer sunsets beat the pants off Cape Town ones. When the sky goes that ridiculous vermillion and violet and pink. Or when the cumulous clouds are building up for a mother of a storm and the air smells like ozone and dust. And the streets steam. If someone painted it, it would seem as chocolate box as hell, but it’s really all big and awesome.

    But Cape Town winter dusks, when everything is crisp and shot with this flippin’ crazy light, feel like another world.

  3. andreas says:

    are pretty frikkin’ awesome too, Dolce. I know exactly what you mean when you say it would seem as chocolate box as hell if you tried to paint it. Fuck, it’s kinda chocolate box writing about it. I sometimes stand in the park where I walk the dogs and just stare at the sunsets. But I’ve noticed a Retard who does precisely the same thing. So I’m going to try and be a little more discreet in future.

  4. dolce says:

    Cape Town. Mother city, literally. My lovely little dorpie. Weren’t you here?

  5. dolce says:

    I have a vision of you staring at a sunset all slack jawed and then realising and kicking the nearest child or something…bah humbug. *winks*

    Ja, I might flounce around, rolling my eyes at life, but I really, really get a rush out of CT…I drive to work on De Waal Drive and almost every morning the view takes my breath away. I get this silly grin. Something I thought I’d grown out of when I lived overseas. So glad I didn’t!

  6. jacktonsil says:

    Jeez, you really are living the breezy life, aren’t you? The dam – surely? I’ve been there of late trying to equate my bike ride to a walk on Noordhoek beach; but, while the dam does have its own charm, and while I do prefer goose to gull, I just can’t seem to balance it. I think maybe it’s the fact of Chapman’s being a nicer hill than 3rd Avenue Linden, or of Fish Hoek being prettier than Melville, to compare the other side… The clubbiness of M these days does nothing for me, I’m afraid. But then, where I am, I don’t feel my enviroment imposes on me quite so much. I’m bigger here in Joeys; under that mountain, I just feel so fucking small.

  7. dolce says:

    I’ve had that exact thought, but the other way around. The buzz and rush of Jozi stretches me out of myself. I feel less connected, smaller there than here.

  8. jacktonsil says:

    … a little way up the hill in Tamboerskloof. Had to take the cable car up instead of Platteklip cos of a bout of flu. Fucking tourist thing to do and bitchin’ cold; but at least from there things look a little smaller on the ground. To tell you the truth, I ended up buying a map and retreating to my holiday flat with its remote controlled TV. 2 games of soccer a night kinda kept me sane, and when I wanted to experience your city I’d open up my map book: and I would be the big thing – and Cape Town, just a tiny little pimple of land. And that’s the way I like it.

  9. jacktonsil says:

    … in the right place then.

Leave a Reply

