The Itch

Bollocks, bollocks, bollocks. I’m hitting the itch phase. The job itch. The ‘this is great, but I can do it with my eyes closed’ itch. The one where I blog until I’m right on deadline, just to get a little adrenaline going. The one where I suffer from serious WABbing*. The one where I write this instead of that!

Admittedly, in this job, it’s taken me 2 years to reach the itch, rather than the ubiquitous 3 months. But still. Bollocks. I like this job. I love the people I work with. I’m fairly autonomous. I report directly to the board and not to some random minion. I just got my first bonus in 5 years. And mostly, in another 2 years I’m entitled to a big, fat sabbatical. Dammit.

I’ve always wondered what I would do if I didn’t have to earn my bucks. I mean, after the 6 months hiatus of lounging about eating popcorn and watching every DVD I’ve been meaning to.

What work would I do for free?

In moments of generous spirit I think I would volunteer for a local charity.

Or maybe I’d go back to acting. Get involved in some stage work or get going on the pimp-me-please auditions round.

Or maybe I’d do this blog thing seriously and see if I could crack a blook. Ah, who am I kidding.

But seriously. I can’t waft around through life, ambling from job to job? Itching.

Bollocks.

_______________________________
*work avoidance behaviour

9 thoughts on “The Itch

  1. simont says:

    Grin and bear a bit. You will reap the rewards in due time. Hey did you know your name means “Sweet” in Latin.
    Cool hey!

  2. dolce says:

    Actually, funnily enough, I did. Being that it’s the name I’ve chosen for my online life. From the italian phrase “la dolce vita” (not the Fellini film), meaning “the good life” or “the sweet life”.

    Lank cool. Hey.

  3. dex says:

    will never go away. But its also why you’ll be successful.

    Oh, and ACTING???

    that sure explains a lot….

    whahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

    acting. wow.

  4. garym says:

    and see if I could crack a blook

    Is that some new literary format … a blog book perhaps?

  5. dolce says:

    Forsoothe! I did indeed tread the wearying boards.

    Helllooooo! did you not spot the drama queen tendancies? The chronic desire for center stagery?

    Flip.

    You are slow blogger.

  6. dolce says:

    Blooks are fairly de rigueur for popular bloggers these days. Usually chicks who blog about sex or trying to get pregnant.

    The former was even able to publish her blook anonymously through a publishing agent and then got outed by the UK’s Sunday Times (the subsequent blog about telling her mother….eek!)

    Interesting phenomenon. But I suppose one doesn’t ever read a blog like a book…so having a cool blog in blook format means reading the writers story without the intervening comments, time lapses etc gives it a different flavour.

    Get enough readers online….produce juicy chick lit…I could try?

  7. dolce says:

    the first blook that I ever read was Belle de Jour about a London call girl, but that fits in the sex category…

    But I didn’t know it orginated from a Blog. In fact, when I read it, it’s unlikely I even knew what a blog was.

    Aaah. The good old days.

    When I had a life.

    Life before blogging.

    A hazy memory of real people and places outside the office.

    *sigh*

  8. wizard says:

    The play who’s name we dare not speak – Which one of the three witches were you?

  9. dolce says:

    Never managed the Scottish Play. But I did score a wee part in Ant and Cleo once. Which was fun.

    Mostly studenty avant guardey stuff that I’m waaaay too ashamed to talk about…but damn, did I blossom in the spotlight. Even if it was just on the edge of it. Stage left. At the back.

Leave a Reply

