Who would have thought?

With your feet in the air and your head on the ground
Try this trick and spin it, yeah
Your head will collapse
But there’s nothing in it
And you’ll ask yourself
Where is my mind


So, to start, a small confession. I, Dolce, a woman mostly disinterested in sport, was riveted by the SA fielding in that corker of a match with England. But I was desperately late for a dinner party and had to leave the comfort of my couch and the beauty unfolding on the screen.

So I tuned into Radio 2000, a station I would normally associate with knitting shows and farmers almanac issues, to catch the last few minutes on my way to Rick’s Cafe. Which was rather odd behaviour, for a woman mostly disinterested in sport.

But the kicker came this morning. When I turned on the Radio on the way back from gym, what should come blaring in glory from my speakers? Rock! Not hip hop. Not house. Not the generally listenable but really quite naff hits and memories of Kfm. But Rock!

And not only that. The Pixies dammit. Followed by a bit of Nickleback and some Evanescence.

Who would have thunk it. Apparently a whole morning show. Of Rock. In the morning. On a South Africa radio station. Exactly when I’m driving to work. Exactly when I need a shot of get the fuck up.

I think I’m in love.

Radio 2000; you have a new fan.

23 thoughts on “Who would have thought?

  1. sugarnspite says:

    Sirius? No man. Shirley you can’t be sirius?

    Sheesh, that’s the last station I would have tuned into if I wanted to listen to rock.

    But who is playing rock these days?

    Duncan McLoed wrote an interesting article in FM a while back, Rock reigns after dry spell, lamenting the fact that music has become emasculated and sugary.

    So thank you very much for for the death of rock and birth of accessible music. Turn on the radio and whoop de doo – what do you know? What Hallmark is to cards, pop is to music. So you’ll predominently hear Kelly Clarkson, Backstreet Boys, N Sync, Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, Robbie Williams, Beyoncé, Gwen Stefani, Justin Timberlake, Nelly Furtado and The Pussycat Dolls.

    I blame this on the Bush administration. But then I blame everything on the Bush administration. It’s so convenient. They’re such wankers, they’re always fucking up and Cheyney’s just looking for it all the time, now isn’t he?

    Basically from the empire that gave us the tabula rasa that is Paris Hilton comes this music which has no shadow, no protest, no intelligence, and no real depth of any kind. It is candy floss. Requires no real thinking, which is perfect for a nation that is not required to fire any neurons nor ask any questions.

    So there was a time when the likes of Pink Floyd or Blue Oyster Cult or Judas Priest or Iron Maiden reigned supreme. Not any more. But hopefuly the saccharine zenith that is pop music will evolve. It already is. McCloed reckons there’s a rebirth of rock and this is seeing some awesome music played by the likes of Dream Theater, Porcupine Tree, IQ, Tool, Pain Of Salvation, Opeth, Ayreon, Fates Warning, Spock’s Beard and Symphony X.

    And then you say there’s Radio 2000? Sheesh. I would never have guessed.

    sugarnspite
    “you’re going to have to save yourself”

  2. micatyro says:

    …Radio 2000… yes, it’s true… I too have been listening to Radio 2000 for a few years now, particularly on weekends when braaing in the garden… they play a cool mix of local, rock, reggae and oldies and generally the only thing inbetween is Radio 2000 – Port Nolloth 93.8 or something similar in a funny accent… Rock on Dolce! Just don’t start listening to a late night rock show and fall asleep with it on… early weekend mornings are reserved for the religious stuff… that thankfully goes away at midday…

  3. arbchick says:

    there is hope that we will one day get along!

  4. starshine says:

    I’m glad to hear its not just a Northern suburbs thing!
    I’ve been listening to Radio Tweeduisend for years too.
    They also used to do a lot of current slash political talks, but now I go to (gasp) Bush Radio in the evenings for those.
    I have to say its a great relief to listen to good old fashioned rock in the mornings!

  5. dolce says:

    Radio 2000. Give it a whirl. Ok. So I’ve only got one morning under my belt here, I know. But I can smell a good thing here!

    The sad thing is that I have succumbed and I don’t fight the Xtina’s of the world. I bob and hum and generally know at least the chorus. It’s nice. Some of it even lodges, and even resonates. If I’m lucky!

    But take me in the gym this morning.

    (note the delight in actually gettting there.)

    I even have an eyeprod, filled with an eclectic little mish mash.

    So. I’m joggling on the treadmill. To Snoop and his PCD’s. Pushing each others buttons and stuff. And it’s good.

    But fek me. When that Fall Out Boy comes on.

    All the boys who the dance floor didn’t love
    And all the girls whose hips couldn’t move fast enough
    Sing!
    Until your lungs give out

    The grind goes out of that mill. And I can run. And run.

    You should have SEEN me when the Sisters of Mercy kicked in. That driving base line. Man, they should bottle that stuff.

    And give me a Gunners or Metalica rock ballad, raw and twisted, over a simpering candy floss ditty any day of the week.

    Or twist me down into the psychadelic places of the genius minds of Plant and Zappa.

    Or even give me the hair rock of Alice (Cooper and In Chains) or even a little Whitesnake.

    Yum.

  6. dolce says:

    Hell yes!

    It’s just that I’m surrounded by all these Southern Suburbs twin-set ‘n pearls chicks in their polo playas with no one to tell me where to get my rock off!

    It’s like cricket gave me a present.

    Maybe I’ll write Graham and the boys a thank you note. It’s only polite.

  7. dex says:

    In the last 2 years, I totally quit radio. 5fm turned too hippety-hoppy and Highveld…. well, we all know highveld. They’ve got that Mansfield oke. Classic FM: ja well no fine. You can’t really get psyched up for anything on that, except maybe a DRL blog. Phatooey. SAfm and 702? The last thing I want to do while making a lang pad kort is learn something.

    Thanks for the tip, D.

  8. dolce says:

    Hellfire and spandex in the evening and you can repent in the morning. It’s like the Catholic Church of Radio stations.

  9. dex says:

    would you find Robert Plant’s plant in George Bush’s bush?

  10. micatyro says:

    …a plant named Robert… and a cicada named John… and a toaster called Nigel (that last one is probably irrelephant)…

  11. dolce says:

    Too chilled today to play blog sumo.

    Whatever.

    And this I know
    His teeth as white as snow
    What a gas it was to see him
    Walk her every day
    Into a shady place
    With her lips she said
    She said

    Hey Paul, Hey Paul, Hey Paul, let’s have a ball

    Coulda been talking about the ‘mark! Anyone here called Paul?

  12. micatyro says:

    …a tree named Paul… (Paul Tree… geddit?)

  13. dolce says:

    like did you know you can use lemon to get the tea stains off tea spoons. But it doesn’t get the crack stains off, sadly.

    Jeez, I forgot you okes had to deal with Mansfield.

    Sorry.

  14. dolce says:

    if George Bush and Kate Bush are related. They’re both crap.

  15. dolce says:

    didn’t Nigel Slater have a book called “Toast’? Maybe relephant after all? Assuming your average pachyderm likes cooked bread, an all.

  16. arbchick says:

    I was giving you a compliment……

    Your response should have been something like….thanks.

    Not looking for any trouble, believe me.

  17. flutter says:

    You name everything ??

    I had a boyfriend who did that it was really annoying, epecially if he went..

    ” Have you seen Nigel? I left him on the counter but someone has moved him.”

  18. sugarnspite says:

    I haven’t listened to the radio in the car in ages, mostly I just listen to CDs or MP3s because the choice of music on radio is fairly limited, boring and repetitive! But sounds like I am missing something sweet on Radio 2000, so will have to give it a whirl.

    So. Have you heard of Regina Spektor? Have a CD of hers that I have on perpetual replay at the moment. Trippy piano and really cool lyrics, and beautiful voice. You can check her out on myspace.com:
    http://www.myspace.com/reginaspektor

    or Youtube:

    Given your writing, I think you might just like her.

    But ja. Radio 2000 here I come.

    sugarnspite
    “you’re going to have to save yourself”

  19. Jam says:

    This is a well kept secret that my current partner let me into. Love it.

  20. dolce says:

    Jammer….I think Ray White is delicious. He makes my morning.

  21. arbchick says:

    Hell…these were the days – I thought Dolce was a stuck up cow back then – (I was wrong…sorry Dolce)…Dolce thought I was a crappy bitch – she was pretty perceptive even then….*sigh*……..*and bursts into song ‘Memories…….All alone in the moonlight, I will smile at the old days….’ A couple of alley cats begin to croon…..*

  22. Arbchick says:

    *gunshot*….cat runs out of room with what looks like a thumb in its mouth..

Leave a Reply

