a series of utterly random thoughts

I wonder if Manto and Mbeki are having an affair? The conspiracy theorist in me has a vision of those long dark days of struggle and exile throwing them together, unable to deny their passion. Manto drinks to forget he’s married and he keeps her around in some misguided sense of loyalty.

Which makes me wonder, why do cars need extra stuff, just when you don’t have any money?

Driving in my rust infested golf this morning, Ray White once again made my day with a well timed airing of “Thunderstruck”. Bloody excellent way to start a Tuesday.

I wish that when I was 15, I knew then what I know now about boys. I’ve always been dead cynical about men, but recently I’ve just completely fallen in love with them. Boys, generally, have this unbelievably soft spot beneath all the bluff and bravado. And they’re full of strange little quirks and foibles. I spent some of the weekend with a bunch of guys in their late teens, early twenties, and I was overwhelmed with a kind of nostalgic, vaguely sad fondness for all the boys I knew all those years ago. All the baby egos busting for a little stage time. All the peacocking. All masking exactly what I was; chronic self consciousness. If I could tell my teenage self one thing, it would be to relax. Chill. Be friends. Flirt more.

M’s having a baby. I’m so excited. But kinda sad too. That’s it. Our friendship, almost as old as forever, will move into a different phase now. Selfish reaction. But no less true.

Not that I’m surprised. I suppose I just thought we make that change together.

And life says again “That’ll fuck ‘em…”

28 thoughts on “a series of utterly random thoughts

  1. Semisweet says:

    Hey Dolce. Good post as usual.

    Congrats to your friend :). I know how you feel. My best friend is married and living in London as well. She isnt pregnant yet but even just being so far away the dynamics of the friendship has changed somewhat. Dont you sometimes wish for those good ole days when things were simpler and she was always around. Yeah. *big nostalgic sigh*

    That is exactly what I would have told my teenage self as well. Sometimes I still try to tell myself that but it feels like I am so set in my ways that its difficult. I would have also had more self esteem and not have been so self conscious.
    I have some random thoughts as well….

    Why is it that whenever you are late or in a hurry to get somewhere, all the traffic lights are red?

    Why is it that when you try and leave work early, you always bump into the boss in the lobby?

    Why is it that when you lie abt being late to work cos your car was giving you problems, the next day your car WILL give you problems? and

    Who is this Murphy?

    Just a few thoughts.

  2. dolce says:

    I’m gonna kick that Murphy’s ass!

    And why does that phone always ring, just when you’ve got in the bath?

  3. Flutter says:

    Wait till you become the godmother to her child.
    Talk about dynamics of a relationship shifting. You will become “Aunty Dolce”.

    Sucks. Big time.

  4. dolce says:

    Aunty se voet! I’d rather be called “raving loon Dolce” than Aunty. Sies.

    And unlikely to be god parent – leaving me in the spiritual care of a child might be dangerous!

  5. Semisweet says:

    Yep, Murphy needs a kick in the head.

    The phone/doorbell rings when you in the bath.

    The phone also rings when you’ve just taken a huge mouthful of your lunch/coffee 🙂

    Hmmm…I think Aunty Dolce has a nice ring to it.

    Nah, I think you would be good with children.

  6. dolce says:

    haha – I am good with children. But only coz I still is one.

  7. pete says:

    hey D am at home (flu) so enjoyed reading your post. Also think you would make a good fairy (odd)mother.

  8. “Manto drinks to forget he’s married and he keeps her around in some misguided sense of loyalty.”

    hahaha

    if only it were that benign

  9. Semisweet says:

    Come on, Im sure you can help them ‘spiritually’ 😉

  10. Semisweet says:

    So do you then think that their trip to Congo was just a getaway under the pretence of work?

    *Gross mental picture of Mbheki and Manto together*
    *shudder*
    *yuck*
    *puke*

  11. Vapour says:

    O, O what’s going on with da women. All wanting to be back at some time in some place before boys become men.
    “My god scott is this a national outbreak of the dreaded MILF condition!” 🙂

  12. Semisweet says:

    Well vapour you know they say date them young cos they never grow up anyway 😉

    Do you have the MILF yearning?

  13. Vapour says:

    semi I am a MILF yearning 😉

  14. Dolce says:

    DS My gynae (yes, my gynae) thinks that it’s all part of the Xhosa plan to wipe out the Zulus. Genocide through denial. And I thought I was a conspiracy loon!

    Semi I can teach them about spirits. But that’s it. And agreed – ik, ik, ik!

    Vaps I’m in my sexual prime, they’re in theirs. QED. *sigh*. Who am I kidding.

  15. Vapour says:

    Now Dolce you know that men reach their sexual prime at 13 and we never leave. Of course I can only tell you what my pumpkin tells me.

  16. Semisweet says:

    Ha ha ha vapour

    I think Mbheki has those MILF yearnings and went for Manto (not the best choice but she was available)…or maybe he had fantasies of being with Winnie and then when he couldnt have her he turned to her ‘twin’.

    You not kidding anyone Dolce…go get ’em girl. Teach ’em a trick or four 😉

    *semi reaches into the cupboard for the kama sutra*

  17. Vapour says:

    So semi an “Old mother hubbard”, trick then?

  18. Dolce says:

    “but when she bent over, that naughty old Rover, he gave her a bone of his own”

    Interesting: FiLF. Sounds about right! Haha. Don’t think I have any of those yearnings. Oh, unless Sean Bean count. Phoaw!

  19. Semisweet says:

    LOL Dolce…dont have a Rover unfortunately 🙂

    Im far from an ‘old mother hubbard’ vapour 😉 but I know a few tricks (and they dont include dogs Dolce)… ha ha ha

  20. Dolce says:

    As long as you just know those tricks, Semi, and you’re not turning them? (*wink*)

  21. dolce says:

    Hey BP…sorry about the lergy. Hope you feel better. And Lu still quotes you on that one!

  22. 302 says:

    my lovely car has been booked in for a manicure next week.

    i would tell my teenage self to stop slouching.

    and murphy’s in the wiki.

  23. dolce says:

    ey, Mr 302. You were a sloucher? Were you sauve poser or struggling intellectal. I have vision of you, off in a corner, listening to esoteric tracks on oversized headphones, slouching with a kind of outcaste insouciance.

  24. 302 says:

    no i’m just a slacker. my inertia is lazy but in a positive kinda way – leisurely – i wish i had the gall to be a poser but my intellect has kept me back i grant you so neither.

    just one of the jeans and t-shirt types who was always accompanied by a polystyrene coffee cup, Sanyo walkman, 200 page paperback that could never be finished.

    and never have such big words been used to describe me, i shall scribble them down and sleep well tonight.

  25. tafelberg says:

    One likes to think that each of these two individuals would have better taste than to want to fuck the other, but the sad reality is that we know this is not the case.

    They deserve each other. Manto can test out the garlic and beetroot theory, Zuma can test out the shower theory, and before long the world will be rid of both of them, proving the failure of said theories.

    Then maybe Thabo will listen. But then again, maybe he won’t.

  26. Dolce says:

    302 Jeez. And I can say globular too!

    Tafel Don’t bring Zuma onto my nice clean blog. Phatooey! My theory was Thabo and Manto, sitting in a tree, k.i.s.s.i.n.g. But clearly, thinking about it, Manto does wear a lot of very inviting skirts.

    Mmmm.

  27. Semisweet says:

    Definitely not turning those tricks Dolce 🙂

  28. I read your first sentence and could not read anymore. I think I need to go throw up at the image that it created.

Leave a Reply

