dawn

Last night I dreamt you wrote me a poem. Strung together syllables of love. And when I woke, I wondered if it was real. I lay in the pre-dawn light, still wrapped in dreams and half imagined memory, and wondered what it would mean if it was. And, as the day began to grow, I knew that nothing could change. That love would not be enough. That our days would be filled with the other things of life. That this longing would be stunted by something bigger than my need. And, closing my eyes against it, I breathed in the scent of a different tomorrow.

14 thoughts on “dawn

  1. kyknoord says:

    Not to trivialise your achingly beautiful expression of longing in any way, but last night I dreamed about a giant marshmallow. Thought you should know.

  2. dolceii says:

    @ Kyk > Did you wake up missing a pillow by any chance? Hey, look. Marshmallows can be poetic too. Especially when toasted on the fire to a slidey gooeyness and dipped in chocolate. ggaaahahaammmmuummmmm!

  3. kyknoord says:

    Hmmm… I’ll have to check. It was dark.

  4. bluepete says:

    like the strung together syllables of love part. almost a poem in itself. But your post made me a bit sad. almost as sad as when my baby tortoise died. isn’t there a site somewhere that will make a poem for you if you give it some random words? love, marshmallow, words, dawn …

  5. dolceii says:

    @ Kyk > Who makes your bed then?

    @ Bluepete > don’t be sad chicken. The tortoise wasn’t your fault. And ja, that would be cool. Hey, and why aren’t you blogging anymore?

  6. bluepete says:

    hey dolce, check out the poem generator at http://thinkzone.wlonk.com/PoemGen/PoemGen.htm

    Or maybe not:
    WHY DOES THE SUN DIE?
    THE DEAD SEA CALMLY VIEWS THE WIND.
    O, DESOLATION!
    WHERE IS THE ROUGH WHALE?
    LOVE IS A DEAD CLOUD.

    Yes, I must start blogging again. Easier to just leave comments on your blog for a while 😉

  7. bluepete says:

    another one 😉

    My Love (generated “http://www.links2love.com/poem_generator.htm”

    Your skin glows like the marshmallow, blossoms light as the protea in the purest hope of spring.
    My heart follows your harmonica voice and leaps like a deer at the whisper of your name.
    The evening floats in on a great hummingbird wing.
    I am comforted by your corset that I carry into the twilight of dawnbeams and hold next to my neck.
    I am filled with hope that I may dry your tears of water.
    As my head falls from my hat, it reminds me of your marshmallow.
    In the quiet, I listen for the last rumbles of the day.
    My heated hand leaps to my underwear. I wait in the moonlight for your secret word so that we may creates as one, hand to hand, in search of the magnificient blue and mystical bed of love.

  8. Dolce says:

    @BP > haha. That’s FANTASTIC! My heated hand leaps to my underwear. I’ve got the giggles now!

  9. bluepete says:

    Yes, that line is hilarious. Pity it isn’t a real love poem otherwise I’d have a good chance of getting some action…

  10. dolceii says:

    From who? Are you sharing scorching messages with a tempting lass (or lasses) yet?

  11. bluepete says:

    wel, I am due for a date later this week. And you? Of course my family keeps reminding me how fabulous you are. *sigh* what is a poor boy to do?

  12. dolceii says:

    Nope, nothing lined up at the mo. But happily nattering away. Ag. You find someone YOU love and think is fabulous, chicken. And bugger the family.

    but send them my holas. I would have thunk they would have been wanting to burn me at the stake. Glad I’m not “that evil woman” or something.

  13. bluepete says:

    What do you mean? I DO think you are fabulous. And jealous re all the nattering. *sulks*

  14. Dolce says:

    Aah, chicken. Thank you. But we need more than fabulosity, and deep down you know that. You just want to get in my knickers again! Now go forth and find a lovely woman! Or two *wicked grin*.

Leave a Reply

