Fish

Do fish hear?  Or do they just fin through a muted, weightless world filled with current and colour and the distant fluting  of whale?  Is sound to them an extension of the water, born as waves within waves to fishy ears?  Are the muffled booms and creaks of the earth just part of the imponderable ocean to them, as understood as the noise of stars are to us?  Or are they perceived as external, inherent to an air based life?  I wonder, as I lie in the sea of my bed, the hushed noises of night rising up to my window.  I wonder what it would be like to be a fish.  one darting flash of gilded colour in a liquid pool of glided pulsing bodies.  A scaled life of low-key movement, constant movement in a vastness that is beyond matter, beyond the concepts of size, of small and smaller.  I wonder if a fish feels its progress through the deep.  Appreciates the sights of coral and other fish and the passage of submarines.  Or if the cycle and the school is enough. The spawning and feeding and dying.  And I wonder, as I drift into sleep, the rocking rhythm of my heart beating me into the dark.  I wonder if fish dream. 

7 thoughts on “Fish

  1. kyknoord says:

    I wonder what fish tell one another after a break-up. “Don’t worry, there are plenty of humans on the land”, perhaps?

  2. dolceii says:

    And what do they hang on their doors? “Gone humaning” sounds weird.

  3. 302 says:

    And what do they eat on Friday for religious reasons.

  4. you write very nicely

  5. dolceii says:

    @ 302 > Well, that depends of whether I remember to feed them.

    @ DeeEssssss > hola! And thank you. I wish you’d pop in at the other place more often. We misssssssssssss you!

  6. Good grief…now there’s a question! Whatever made you think of that?

  7. dolceii says:

    @ The Blonde Blogshell > Of all things, an ear infection. Makes me feel like I’m underwater. It SUCKS!

Leave a Reply

