two pink lines

My cousin’s voice echoes down the long corridor.

“Dooooooolce? Are you out of the shower babe?”

My head muffled in a towel. “Ja, babe. Gimme a minute”

“Dolcearoo, I want you to take a look at something for me.”

Her voice is pitched at a weird level.

I wrap the beige towel around me and pad down the corridor.

“What babe?”

“Um. You know I’ve been feeling tired and a bit off? And I’m late.”

She hands me a strange little plastic wand and a narrow, flat box.

I look at her. And back at the wand. And back at her.

She says, “Have you even done a pregnancy test, D?” She laughs. Nervously. Her brow furrowed. “What does it mean when the one line is dark pink and the other one is lighter?”

I look at the little window on the wand. Two lines. One dark. One faint. But there. And pink.

I look at the box

“Negative: The blue control line turns pink” There is a drawing of the window with one pink band.

“Positive: Two pink bands will appear.” Another drawing, this time with two pink lines.

I look up at my cousin, eyes wide. “Fuck babe, I don’t know. It’s not blue, so something’s happened, right?”

“Ja,” she says, her eyes questioning. “But what does it mean that the other line is so faint?”

“I donno babe. Haven’t done one of these before. There are two lines?”

Her face lights up. Then falls. Then lights up again.

“Oh, fuck, D.”

We read the instructions again. Look at the box. Look at the little window. Do it all over again. And once more.

“It’s darker, isn’t it D? The other line is getting darker.”

“Ja, I think so.”

I pause.

“There definitely two lines, babe. Not one. Two.”

We look at each other. Laugh again. Then look at the wand again.

“Sheesh, D. I guess September is going to be interesting.”

She reaches for her cell phone and calls her husband.

“Babe…there are two pink lines!”

I hear his mates shouting raucously in the background. Eventually, I hear his voice asking what she means.

My cousin gets a soft look on her face. She smiles. “Love, I think you’d better come home.”

9 thoughts on “two pink lines

  1. kyknoord says:

    With everyone calling everyone “babe”, it was inevitable.

  2. dolceii says:

    I think there is something in the water in Jo’burg. Although, how anyone finds the time to shag when they are sitting in traffic for 27.3 hours of each day. Fukkit.

  3. Chris says:

    Are you still writing for the Old (New) Mark? I’ve lost the link and Google is not my friend today.

  4. kyknoord says:

    Fertile imaginations?

  5. globus says:

    what is it with all these SA babies which seem to be arising? you lot are at it like rabbits, clearly.

  6. Something in the water and the altitude.

  7. dolceii says:

    @ Chris > Indeed – but it’s gone through a million incarnations and now lives at http://www.onelongminute.com/. Google is rarely my friend. But google images rocks my world.

    @ Noord > it’s all that bullshit I feed it!

    @ Globus > I don’t know. But I’m only drinking bottled water from now on. Ik. (And yes, like rabbits. *grin*)

    @ Bert > I read that as “attitude” – either way hey? Is it the same in Nam or have you been away for too long?

  8. Martin says:

    Clearly someone is getting some.

  9. dolceii says:

    @ Martin > the funny thing is, her husband looked confused and said, “But hon, we’ve hardly shagged!”. I nearly laughed out loud.

Leave a Reply

