A little hikelet

So, the boy wonders if I’d like to go for a walk up Constantia Nek. I say yes please. 4.5 hours later, having pretty much climbed the mountain, I’m wondering what the fek I’m doing. I’m growling at the boy and nursing large blister clusters on both feet.

Two days and much gluteal agony later, things have changed. I’m feeling rather smug. And looking at the pics today makes me realize why I keep saying yes please. (Photos on taken with my crappy phone, so apologies for the quality)

Spotting a rare Red Cape Disa was a particular treat.

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
View from the first dam

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
More views

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Gizmo investigates the deliciousness that is my boot

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
 

Dennis the small pooch tempts me with a large, inviting body of water. Sadly, being Cape Town’s drinking water, we’re not allowed to swim.

 Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

However, the weird sunburn marks on the backs of my legs are not so flippin’ cool though.

6 thoughts on “A little hikelet

  1. kyknoord says:

    Interesting. The last time someone enjoined me to “take a hike”, it ended badly.

  2. 302 says:

    nature will burn thee but that’s hardly enough to stay indoors, now is it. That’s why you have sun block and at a strategic time you ask your companion to help apply it.

  3. Martin says:

    🙂

    Awesome, isn’t it? My weekend holds some bikeletting. Except I’m not so sure about the “let” part. Nothing small about the pain that lies ahead!

  4. dolceii says:

    @ Kyk > Look at it as a Long Walk to Freedom! Fekkin glass half empty people.

    @ 302 > Aaah. You are a cunning man, Mr 302. And yes, I have subsquently learnt the art of asking for application help. *grin*

    @ Martin > Bikeletting. Sounds like when you rent out your bike to someone else. And nice try. But I’m not convinced. Me own two pins are transport enough for me (when the jet isn’t available).

  5. globus says:

    is it just me or does this sound decidedly dodgy?

    “With two balls each on the green felt, the barman called closing.”

    just wondering.

  6. dolceii says:

    @ Globus > that’s the problem with writing this kinda bollocks – you always end up entendre’ing yourself all over the place. Dodgy indeed!

Leave a Reply

