Friday Frivolity*: Dolce goes all Johnny Cash

Most of my life I’ve eaten fairly bland fare.  Nice Eurocentric nosh like bangers and mash and chops and baked potatoes.  So, the hottest I got for a long time was a samoosa-lite from the very Southern Suburbs corner café. 

That is, until I went to Thailand and was lured into an exotic world of ginger and lemon grass and coconut milk…and chilli.  And as eaters of Cilli know, there is no such thing as just a touch of chilli for ever.  No.  The stuff becomes addictive.  You must have more.  Ever in pursuit of that capsaicinoid-induced buzz.  And so it has been with me.  Green curries, red curries, malay curries.  A dollop of sweet chilli sauce here.  A dash of Tabasco there.  Still light weight in comparison to some, but edgeing closer to hhaaaa-haaaa-haaaa-hot.

However, there is a drawback to chilli munching.  One small thing that nobody ever seemed to mention when extolling the virtues of the red fruit of fire.  A side effect of the delicious zing of ingestion: digestion and expulsion.

And so, my theme song today, courtesy of the great Mr. Cash himself:

Love Is A Burning Thing
And It Makes A Fiery Ring
Bound By Wild Desire
I Fell Into A Ring Of Fire

CHORUS:
I Fell Into A Burning Ring Of Fire
I Went Down, Down, Down
And The Flames Went Higher

And It Burns, Burns, Burns
The Ring Of Fire
The Ring Of Fire

I Fell Into A Burning Ring Of Fire
I Went Down, Down, Down
And The Flames Went Higher

And It Burns, Burns, Burns
The Ring Of Fire
The Ring Of Fire

The Taste Of Love Is Sweet
When Hearts Like Ours Meet
I Fell For You Like A Child
Oh, But The Fire Went Wild

CHORUS
I Fell Into A Burning Ring Of Fire
I Went Down, Down, Down
And The Flames Went Higher

And It Burns, Burns, Burns
The Ring Of Fire
The Ring Of Fire

I Fell Into A Burning Ring Of Fire
I Went Down, Down, Down
And The Flames Went Higher

And It Burns, Burns, Burns
The Ring Of Fire
The Ring Of Fire

And It Burns, Burns, Burns

The Ring Of Fire

The Ring Of Fire

*and yes, Friday it is indeed…for me.  I is on leeeeeave as of 5pm today.  *grin*

11 thoughts on “Friday Frivolity*: Dolce goes all Johnny Cash

  1. kyknoord says:

    I suggest you cue up ZZ Top’s Afterburner next.

  2. dolceii says:

    @ Kyk > although why the ZZ boys would burn anything with that much flamable stuff on their chins, I have no idea.

  3. Mrs. Benitez says:

    Ooh, the Man in Black. My favourite.

    So, you know the religious sect* that feeds their babies tiny amounts of poison, increasing the dosage incrementally until, as adults, they can kill by just nicking your skin with their teeth? It was like that in our household – except with chilli. After meals, we’d have to gargle with petrol. No, really.

    (There was an informal “Ring of Fire” Club that used to meet at Tarkaris in Sea Point for a spot of vindaloo and pain. Such amateurs.)

    *Catholics.

  4. Katt says:

    A spot of useless trivia – it is rumoured that Def Leppard wrote their song “Ring of Fire” after the band all enjoyed a particularly lethal curry the night before.

  5. dolceii says:

    @ Mrs B > Aye, there is something about Mr Cash, there is. And I have not had the pleasure of a Tarkaris experience. Something to investigate.

    P.S. Is that sect still around? Catholicism is so passé.

    @ Katt > Darlin’! Is that you? Oh say it’s so? Where have you been? And let’s just not go there. I’ll be singing “Let’s get Rocked” all day! *sigh*

  6. Globus says:

    this is a really good looking blog now.

    globus agrees with chilli – like many things, best in moderation, but less fun if so.

  7. dolceii says:

    @ Globus > What? It wasn’t good looking before? 😦

    And ja. Chilli. Love hate all over the place!

  8. Mrs. Benitez says:

    Well, I’d swear that I first heard of the sect while dozing off on my parent’s couch during a National Geographic special on India. But then again, I may have just overheard mum and dad discussing their neighbours. It could so go either way.

    Still, I could start something up, if you’re keen? I’d have to be Head Deity, of course.

  9. dolceii says:

    @ Mrs B. > We had neighborgs like that. Eating the flesh and drinking the blood of their deity. My mum forbade be from playing with their children.

    And yes please! Can I be Head Priestess in Charge of Decapitations and Tithes,then?

  10. Globus says:

    ahh but it didn’t link to globus before 😉

    just kidding, methinks it’s just looking good 🙂

  11. Mrs. Benitez says:

    Maybe.

    Okay, fine. I get the bigger dungeon, though.

Leave a Reply

