Snoopin’ about at the SA Blog Awards

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Ja. So I went to the SA Blog Awards Ceremony last night. I’m a nosy parker. I was curious. I wanted to spy on other bloggers.

But, of course, I was on my ace (since Rox stood me up, beeeeeyaaaaatch.)

 So, Amstel (schwwwweeeeeeet Amstel) in hand, I tackled the first chick I spotted on her own and struck up a conversation.

Turns out Jenty was down from Jo’burg on business and thought she’d pop in since her photoblog was up for an award. What a fab woman. Though how she manages two children, two blogs (one of which she posts on every single day) and a job, I donno! Respect. And she won! In the best photoblog category. I felt hugely smug by association. (But utterly crap that I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye. Sorry Jents. I want to know how you got the tree back to Jo’burg!)

The only point at which I was tempted to boo and growl a little, was when Thought Leader won best blog of the year and an Xbox. Hisssssssssssssss. Ag. I can like to be a bit more of a grownup. Congrats okes. Seriously.

And I’m gutted Kyk didn’t win something. I just don’t understand it. Really.

Two more Amstels later I was up for some more schmoozing. Butlers arrived with a large amount of pizza, which was good as I was able to counteract the Amstel Damage so that when I nattered to the blogger folk I wouldn’t make a complete arse of myself.

I had a chat with the lovely Martin, his brother Heinrich and Jonathan, who organises the awards, poor bastard. (Bloody good awards ceremony, mate – short, funny, to the point – nice!)

So not a bad evening. Even if I’ve discovered I can’t comment on Jenty’s blog because of our idiotic service providers. Grr. I shall be revenged.

More of the winners and runner’s up here.

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Snoopin’ about at the SA Blog Awards

  1. Globus says:

    globus is feeling like he’s almost becoming an SA blogger – some of his fave blogs are saffers, someone even thought he -was- one a few days back, and he’s even considering it as his next holiday destination. globus isn’t sure about these winners, but these things usually have something of a nigerian-election ring about ’em anyway – there’s always some kinda cronyism or fix in any awards ceremony globus thinks. the events themselves tend to conflict with the meritocratic PR they try to surround them with. globus ain’t heard of most of the winners (and globus is a blog whore) but then he might just be pimpin’ in the wrong places 😉

  2. kyknoord says:

    Oh but I did win something: self-respect.

  3. dolceii says:

    @ Globus > yeah, every year there is the inevitable gnashing and finger pointing and pondering. But who can be bothered with that when there is an opportunity to eat free pizza. By the way, yhy does Globus talk about Globus in the Third Person?

    @ Kyk > OooOOOoooh! Cue soaring Hollywood sound track and and back lit shot of our hero, Mr. Noord., standing proudly against the setting sun, his camo vest knotted in a manly way infront of his muscular abdomen. His mullet flappin’ in the breeze. I can like only to worship at your feets, Sir.

  4. 302 says:

    And the blog-y goes too…ooh please my pass my slippers and get me a cuppa chamomile tea whilst i get on with my boring arse life instead.

  5. dolceii says:

    @ 302 > Oh go on… you know you wanted to rub shoulders with the inner circle. I was a a’quivver to be so close. P.S. What colour are your slippers. If you say navy blue stokkies, we can’t be friends any more.

  6. 302 says:

    Stokkies – i don’t quite think that made the abc of men’s fashion.

    No I’ve got a light beige pair with brown trim slip-on type slippers , comfortable and respecting enough to answer the front door in

    and now that you’re close to the inner circle i can see how it all becomes problematic

  7. kyknoord says:

    Mock all you want. I have broad shoulders.

  8. dolceii says:

    @ 302 > I’m so on the in now! I know at least 2 people who know people who know people. I’m completely overwhelmd with the power rush.

    @ Kyk > Yes you do, Kyk ‘n Moer, yes you do. *Swoon*.

  9. Rox says:

    Dolce babe *hangs head in shame* I’m sooo sorry love! All I could do was do a quick post that I couldn’t make it, and by all accounts it was a good one too. Meh. How can I make it up to you, chocolates, beer?

  10. jenty says:

    It was so cool meeting you Dolce! I slipped out, sorry I didn’t say goodbye. I was beginning to feel a but out of place, so I hunted for my tree and hit the road!
    I’m not sure how I’m going to get it back. LOL! It’s gonna be interesting. It would have been nice if they’d told us what type of tree it is, because not all Cape plants can grow in the Jozi frost!

  11. Katt says:

    Hmmmm… The SA Blog Awards… why has Kyk never won?

  12. dolceii says:

    @ Rox > Aw babe – it’s all ok. I was forced to mingle, and that had good consequences. So you is forgiven! But chocolate and beer are always welcome. haha.

    @ Katt > I don’t fekkin’ know. I suspect a plot. I suspect that the other boy bloggers are threatened and have colluded to exclude him in some evil way. I suspect I have an over active imagination.

  13. dolceii says:

    @ Jenty > HEY! I’ll find out from Jon. Or Heinrich – they should know. Didn’t it have a little tag thingie on it? And please tell us about how you do eventually get it back. Hilarious!

  14. Martin says:

    You had *how* many Amstels? 😉

    It was good to meet you too, I’m going to find out about the tree – we’ve got the unclaimed ones with us…

  15. Aquila says:

    Pity we couldn’t make it down to Cape Town for the bloggies – would have been fun to see old faces and meet new ones. Perhaps the next 27dinner or something eh?

  16. dolceii says:

    @ Martin > Thank you! And too many, especially since I usually only drink “lite” beer. Sheesh. Cheap date. And you? How was Lourensford?

  17. dolceii says:

    @ Aquila > Absolutely. I’ve been meaning to get myself to one of those for AGES. A 27dinner I mean. Just need to work out the wiki, and this technobimbo is there.

Leave a Reply

