Alone

The girl was alone in the wood.  The trees were dark and foreboding.  Their twisted roots and trailing branches snagged her feet and hair.  She was alone.  With a tear streaked face.  And cold, blue hands.  She was walking.  She’d long given up running.  Her breath was still ragged, but more from the sobs that choked her.  One foot in front of the other.  One more step.  She walked on through the forest, unseeing and deaf to the rustles and creaks of the wood around her.  She wasn’t lost.  But she wasn’t clear where she was either.  It was unimportant.  All that mattered was that she kept moving.  Kept moving along the overgrown path.  Towards the other side.   Where flowers grew.  And the meadows sang with larks and the wings of small insects.  Nothing grew on the dark floor of the forest but moss and lichens and twisted toadstools.  The densely woven canopy shut out the light and muted the sounds of faraway birds.  The drip of water and the ancient sigh of the trees hid the smaller sounds of furtive animals.  She was alone.  And for all her tears, it felt good. 

Tagged , ,

25 thoughts on “Alone

  1. kyknoord says:

    “…Towards the other side…” – that’s all there is.
    P.S. You said “wood” nhur hur hur.

  2. thegnukid says:

    This is entrancing. It happens to echo my soul at the moment…all up to that last line. But because of that resonance, I am comforted.

    You have a gift of painting with words, Dolce.

  3. nursemyra says:

    I like moss and lichen and twisted toadstools….

  4. Rox says:

    It could have been worse. She could have say, been having a bad trip on shrooms and not quite sure if her mates really had been wasted. 😉

    Just teasing Dolce hun, I’ve had moments like that (actually just yesterday in fact) where I was in that state walking down Kloof Street. Something about being lost that helps us find ourselves, funny that.

  5. daisyfae says:

    i know this well… but for me, it’s not ‘woods’. it’s ‘airports’. if i’ve got time to kill before a flight, i can wander for a long time and not know or care where i am. besides, business travelers resemble toadstools.

  6. “the ancient sigh of the trees”

    Loved that.

  7. Dolce says:

    @ Kyk > I also said toadstool. Nhur nur nur.

    @ Gnu > It’s better than painting with my willy, which I hear some people do. Not that I have a willy….um….gosh, look at the time!

    @ Nurse M > I do too. Quite a bit. But I also like meadows and larks. Sometimes, you need a bit of both to get perspective, hey?

    @ Rox > is true chica. And often, I find, if I just stop looking, I find. (Pass the shrooms!)

    @ Dais > WAHAHahahahaha. And the ancient sigh of hotel check in staff is pretty fucken crystal too!

    @ Mands > thanks…I had a brief vision of those Ents. I love the idea that trees are secret sentient beings who creak and sigh in an old, slow dance.

  8. I really must do something about my garden.

  9. nursemyra says:

    I’ve heard an epilady works well in an emergency Mrs B 🙂

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Mrs B and Nurse M > Indeed. Or get a weed eater in.

  11. Parenthesis says:

    Dear Dolce
    You missed the closing date for Dazzle Me.
    I am very dissapointed.
    Love P

    http://randomburblings.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/a-meme-with-a-difference-aka-dazzle-me-part-iii/

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > fuggit. I thought it was the end of this month? Drat. I was carving out some time later this week to focus. 😦 Sorry oh disappointed one! Next one, I promises!

  13. Parenthesis says:

    Are you thinking what I am thinking?
    Dear Dolce, please do offer your considered and valued opinion. There’s R500 riding on it. Thanks.
    http://randomburblings.wordpress.com/2008/05/26/ten-miles-enters-the-fray/
    [That way I may not say anything how very dissapointed I was not to get an entry from you …. ]
    Love P, etc etc.

  14. Parenthesis says:

    I’ll forgive you this time.

  15. @nursemyra & Dolce: HEYYY! I’m resting between conquests, dammit. 😉

    (Christ, I am behind in my commenting. Dolce, dear – you carry on up ahead. I’ll catch up with *puff* *puff* everyone eventually…)

  16. { Gah! I wish wordpress wouldn’t see every second bloody parenthesis as an excuse to randomly gooi in an emoticon. People are going to think I’m cheerful, or something. }

  17. Dolce says:

    @ Mrs B > Ag, it seems you actually *work* for a living. And *cackle*. It’s a plot.

  18. Parenthesis says:

    I beg your pardon Mrs B, every second bloody WHAT? 😉

  19. Parenthesis – not everything is about you, dear. 😉 <- ( intentional emoticon this time. )

  20. Dane says:

    Dane says : I absolutely agree with this !

  21. Dolce says:

    @ Mrs B > It’s not? Dang!

  22. Dolce says:

    @ Dane: thanks for popping in – what do you agree with; my silliness or that everything isn’t about the lovely Ms P? Elucidate, my dear commentator.

  23. chromaticism says:

    Chromaticism says : I absolutely agree with this !

  24. Demode says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Demode!!!

  25. Dolce says:

    @ Demode > Thanks for visiting the Good Life. And there is no translation, really…just what you get out of it, I suppose. Fiction rooted in fact… 🙂

Leave a Reply

