An addendum to the DW

Right, so when the LB* made the booking for our DW, he regaled me in the conversation he had while booking:

 

LB: “Room for two please”

 

Booking lady: “Ooooh, lovely, will you be bringing your wife Sir?”

 

LB: “No”

 

Booking lady: “Um. Right  [awkward silence]  Ok.  Name please?”

 

We giggled.  The perfect start to a DW.

 

So when we arrived at the room, I HOWLED with laughter, because there, artfully arranged by “accident”, was not only a bible, but a Bridal magazine too.

 

So I whipped up the bridal mag, hooting with derision, and prancing around the room pointing out meringue frocks and hideous table settings, only to be utterly silenced by the ad on the back cover:

 

[cue twilight zone music]

 

The gods are a fuckkin’ bunch of sarcastic bastards.  Nice one, oh thunderous ones.  Ha. Ha. Ha.

 

*Laughing Boy

 

Tagged , ,

11 thoughts on “An addendum to the DW

  1. 302 says:

    a little personalised attention to detail, wish all places of accommodation are so thoughtfully helpful. then my bar fridge would have lots of expensive wodka and lindt chocolate bars.

    i will bring my own literature just organise the booze and those soaps to swipe.

  2. daisyfae says:

    LB should have ended the conversation with “Oh, and by the way – do you have provisions for shearing a sheep or should i bring my own?”

  3. Ah, the Motel Amish (‘A Yoke On Every Pillow’)… I have fond memories myself, dear.

  4. Dolce says:

    @ 302 > I *would* have preferred champers and a fruit basket.

    @ Kyk > but effective! I’m planning my trourok as I type.

    @ Dais > I think *these* people would have assumed you were just practising for the latest country fair…. And brought you fresh sheep.

    @ Mrs B > Parallel parking the buggy’s a bitch though, ain’t it?

  5. jenty says:

    PMSL!
    I can’t remember when last I went on a DW, enjoy it!

  6. nursemyra says:

    dolce vita is my favourite perfume. how about you – what perfume do you wear?

  7. thegnukid says:

    Was the “Heathens and Sinners Suite” already occupied? Sheesh… hate when that happens. You have to book that one well in advance, i’m sure.

  8. Tyger Katt says:

    Oooh, a dirty weekend with subliminal messaging. I can’t remember when last I had one of those… oh wait, have I ever had one of those?

    Do we get to comment on the ‘trourok’ designs? 🙂

  9. Sounds like fun? Will there be a full report back this morning?

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Jent > Me neither. I mean, aside from this one. Yummmmmmm.

    @ Nurse M > I didn’t know there was a Dolce Vita perfume…mmmm… interesting! I lurve Fendi and Paloma Picasso and the “Maitress” by Agent Provocateur. All spicy, deep note perfumes. Love them!

    @ Gnu > Yeah, sadly. And they didn’t have enough prayer groups to surround it this year.

    @ Kattya > If it ain’t huge and meringue-like, with bouffant sleeves, is it really worth having at all?

    @ Mandy > Arse about face as usual, the full report was about 3 posts ago. It was fun. *wicked glinty smile*

Leave a Reply

