Vive L’Anniversaire*

*sop alert

On the 30th of May 2006 I wrote my first post on a blogspot blog. A week later, I wrote my first post for Blogmark. I cannot believe how my life has changed in the two revolutions of the sun since that week.

I look back over the last two years (and the year before that I lurked like a professional stalker), through numerous transmutations (of blog-home and character) and I can quite honestly say that the challenge I set myself that long ago Tuesday afternoon has been met.

I no longer live my life apart. On the couch. Safe. In the lead up to that first post, I changed my job, I challenged myself on how I really felt about relationships (with friends and lovers) and I realized that I would never find joy without the threat of a little pain.

So, people of the blog. Thank you. For lurking and bleating and poking and flaming. For meeting and drinking and snogging and squeezing. For listening and reading and eye-rolling and believing.

You’ve changed me in ways you will never know. And I will never be able to tell you how important you’ve been to me.

Here endeth the sop.

Tagged , ,

20 thoughts on “Vive L’Anniversaire*

  1. thegnukid says:

    just so and well said… this is what i seek as well for my salvation and expression through the blog. and i am glad you have found it. you are a gem, Dolce, shining out in the internet gravel pit.

  2. kyknoord says:

    Well met indeed :mrgreen:

  3. couchtrip says:

    Many congrats on your anniversary from a sometimes lurker! Best, pete

  4. jenty says:

    Happy blogaversary!!
    Blogging is life-changing… for me anyway.

  5. daisyfae says:

    congratulations – on staying with it, finding your ‘voice’ and style, but mostly for getting off the couch and taking risks. scary stuff, but the rewards are juicy!

  6. Dolce says:

    @ Gnu > *shuffles feet* aaaawwww. Thanks! It’s strange, these connections we find in the dark. I’m deeply grateful for them. It’s made me gentler with myself and with others. We’re all just fractured, by degree, and trying to find a little meaning.

    @ Kyk > I do, however, wonder about some of you.

    @ Couchtrip Pete > thanks lurker boy. You should blog more!

    @ Jents > completely. Utterly. In ways I never, ever, ever expected. And mostly good, and sometimes bad. And all in all, the best thing I ever did. Really.

    @ Dais > Gore-juice, in fact, as I recently discovered. The rewards are gore-juice!

  7. Parenthesis says:

    You’ve brightened many a dreary afternoon at the office for me, Dolce dear – and sop is always welcome, particularly if it has noodles or little crunchy croutons in it 🙂

  8. Martin says:

    Nice one 🙂

  9. daisyfae says:

    Gore-juice? Al Gore? [brrrrrr…]

  10. 302 says:

    and so say all of us blah de blah fishpaste

  11. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > oooooh. A nice Pea sop, with bits of smokey ham. Yummmmmmmmmmm.

    @ Martin > back at you. Am clearing a moment today to read the current installment!

    @ Dais > Yes. Well, actually, no. In a way. Kinda. 👿

    @ 302 > Hip hip horray. *curtsey*

  12. Parenthesis says:

    Oh and by the way Dolce dear, I quite like being called Ms P. I might even change my moniker – anthing to keep my minio- er blog lurkers in place 🙂

  13. Katt says:

    Like Mrs P said, you have brightened my days and added some zing to a monotonous existence. It’s very reassuring to know that there is still life out there.

    Happy Blogiversary!

  14. kyknoord says:

    parenthesis: Ms P? Sounds like someone’s taking the piss.

  15. Parenthesis says:

    Kyk: pfffffffffffffffffffffffff 😉

  16. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P (& Kyk) > I think everyone should have a formal title. Even if it is a wee one.

    @ Kattya > Why, thank you. And I’m not entirely sure that it’s life as we know it, but it’s moving!

  17. Parenthesis says:

    Dolce: Very punny 😉

  18. Rox says:

    Awesome babe, and long may we have you in the blogishere!

    P.S. Will catch up with the rest of your posts soon soon, Prison Break is about to start. 🙂

  19. Dolce says:

    @ Rox > I cannot even begin to try to compete with Wentworth. 😉

Leave a Reply

