Dolce and the very large hangover

 

ik 

I’ll tell you this for free: traffic is bad enough without rolling waves of nausea threatening you with the rising panic of your utter lack of an expedient escape plan.  I’ve just had the longest drive into work.  Ever.

 

Last night my loveliest family, extended family and heart family and I trundled off to Stardust *for the first of my birthday parties.  Stardust* is a “theatrical restaurant”.  Being a “theatrical girl”, it was a match made in heaven.  It’s one of those singing waitrons type places.  You get food, then suddenly your waitron is on the stage belting out a Chicago number or crooning a 40s swing tooon.  

 

I ordered the table next to the stage, settled down and made my first mistake; two bottles of Pongratz**. 

 

It was downhill from there.

 

And now I hurt.  And I’m green.  And great billowing waves of biliousness keep threatening to unman me.

 

And if I can just make it until 1pm, I can get my meeting done and go home to my snakepit.

 

Eep.

 

I’m too old for this nonsense.

 

*If you ever go.  Get Shannon as your waitron.  She does a rendition of “When You’re Good to Mama” that will blow your socks off.  She also sings in a band called Heart Shaped Heresy. 

 

**What’s a birthday without lots of bubbles?  *gag*

Tagged , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Dolce and the very large hangover

  1. Parenthesis says:

    Oooh, another year older, eh? My condolences 🙂

  2. Parenthesis says:

    PS
    Stardust is splat in the middle of my stomping ground, more or less. Mayhaps we have crossed paths without realising? Stalker, you … 😉

  3. 302 says:

    watch out for the bubbles, the alcohol gets into the bloodstream quicker but two bottles well even supermodels will struggle, still think of the memories, a champagne, havoc’ed, birthday hangover – when you are your colourful self again, that’ll be tuff to beat.

    but surely you haven’t aged yet?

  4. nursemyra says:

    happy birthday to you happy birthday to you happy birthday madame president…..

    can you hear me in australia doing my best marilyn impersonation for your special day?

    hope it was a fantastic night xxx

  5. daisyfae says:

    learned the ‘bubble’ lesson (nicely captured by 302) many years ago. those bubbles carry the alcohol directly into the brain… Happy Birthday, in any case. You’ll feel human again in a couple days (and being a fellow Gemini, with my own b-day next week, i’m wondering if we’re astronomical twins…)

  6. Dolce says:

    @ Kyk > shuddupyerface

    @ Ms P > *weep*

    @ Ms P again > I LUUUURVE it. Behaved like a complete loon. Much leaping and dancing and silliness. Ow. My head.

    @ 302 > Not yet, not yet…only on Sunday. Then I’ll be agéd! And bubbles rock. Even if they make your head roll in the morning.

    @ Nurse M > Aw, thank you. I love that version. I sing it myself. All the time. For no real reason. I just like being Marilyn! I was a belter. And now I’m suffering. 😦

    @ Dais > Why am I not surprised. 😀 ….I’m only birthingday good on Sunday…but that means another 2 parties and some serious present opening inbetween. Which reminds me. Laughing Boy did soooooooooo good. Mani, pedi and back massage voucher for moi. I’m like a purring kitten. The boy is a legend. *swooooon*

  7. Older, Budweiser!

    Many Unhappy Returns for Sunday, dear – I hope the day (& the year ahead) is action-packed, cake-filled, present-laden, and memorable for all the right reasons!

    Knock ’em dead.

  8. The Tart says:

    Ditto on all the future goodness!!!

    Happy happy smooches,
    The Tart
    ; *

  9. daisyfae says:

    alas, mine is Monday – no parties, just sullen withdrawl from people who pretend to like me because i throw parties, pick up the tab in bars and make them laugh at the way i dress… As for LB? Nicely done – but rather than contract out the services to a salon, you can always make him learn the mani/pedi/massage/housecleaning stuff…

  10. jenty says:

    Glad you had a good birthday!

  11. […] 2008 at 8:09 am | In Where 1 is “excellent” and 5 is “poor” | Tags: Life Update: Happy bath day to La Dolce Vita. Congratulations! It’s so important to take a bath at least once a year, whether you need it […]

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Mrs B > I can usally knock ’em dead with one roar of my cake-laden, champaign fuel breath! Merci beaucoup, Madamoiselle. I am much obliged.

    @ The Tasty Tart > Oooh. Ta muchly. I had a lovely weekend of decadence. Which every girl needs once a year. If not more. I plan on doing this again next weekend!

    @ Dais > HAPPY HAPPY – something a little more formal on the way…but in the meantime, I hope you are being treated like the goddess you are! And the LB does do those things (I tells you, he’s a winner) He just thought I’d like a little *professional* action. Bless him.

    @ Jent > It was delicious indeed! Ta.

  13. Micatyro says:

    Missed it D… walked as far as Graafys but couldn’t go no further as my shoe leather wore out, so had to head back. I thought of sleeping in Die Karoo until the Graahumstown Fustifaal started but it was too damn uncomfortable on those sheep… they keep moooving, or is that the wrong ruminant? Sounded like a good birthday weekend… happy happy @#$&^@%teenth boithday! Love Mica

  14. Dolce says:

    @ Mica-full-of-excuses-tyro > Ag, man. They’ve invented these excellent things called cars and planes and trains and stuff, dude. Pffffft. 🙂 No worries, matey, I’ll just have to have another drinkie poo in Jozie the next time I’m up. And this time I get to hang out on the floor with Spidey’s side-kick, capische? (PS. Why you commenting here and not OLM? Not that I mind, just curious.)

Leave a Reply

