The “It Never Rains but it Pours” Theory.*

Today I’m interested in the cyclical nature of stuff. Stuff goes well. And then stuff doesn’t go so well. You revel in the former, and then you curse and mumble about the latter. And all along, the stuff just happens. Whether you want it to or not. Fekkin’ stuff. Leaking skylight, rabid colleague, shocks and boot strut** stuffs. Random feedback, endless email decision-by-committee stuffs. Not enough time to blog stuff.

Well, I have one thing to say.

Stuff off stuff.

I’m pouring a glass of wine and ignoring you.

Until the good stuff comes back.

 

*Or the “Murphy is a bugger” Conundrum

** What the hell is a boot strut?

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “The “It Never Rains but it Pours” Theory.*

  1. Parenthesis says:

    Forget Murphy. He’s the nice one. Have you met Sod? 🙂

  2. 302 says:

    a boot strut is when you get that fuck you attitude in your stride, boots generally kinda have that power.

    swings and round abouts, but save some wine for the good times, that fizzy stuff!

  3. Rox says:

    Ooh, ooh, I know this one!

    It’s simple, the universe is a mean bitch that likes to have its way all the time, except when you think that you’ve figured it out, when it then backs off til you think you’re ok again.

    Or, maybe we only develop the fuck off coolness when we are forced to endure this kind of conditioning.

    This is why we have wine you know.

  4. jenty says:

    Enjoy the wine! I had a glass for the same reason tonight… in fact… I’m having a glass more and more often these days!

  5. thegnukid says:

    Is it really circular or more linearly curved with the fabric of time/space? Who knows. What i do know it that two wrongs don’t make a right, but three lefts do.

    hold tight and have another toddy… good times will return or you won’t give a shit anymore.

  6. daisyfae says:

    i too am quite sick of ‘stuff’. i need to be curled up in a little ball, thinking deep thoughts, napping at will and not actually accountable to anyone or anything for days on end… oh. wait. that would be next week.

    dolce, child. you need a freakin’ vacation! when’s your next holiday?

  7. kyknoord says:

    “Leaking skylight, rabid colleague, shocks and boot strut”
    Didn’t they all play at the last summer rock festival?

  8. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > Sod? Yeeees. He’s the guy who blew up my gyser earlier this year. Bastardo.

    @ 302 > A bottle of that fizzy stuff, and good, was staring at my last night, singing a siren song. But I’m saving that for good stuff.

    @ Rox > I know. What the hell would we do without wine? I’m not entirely sure I would cope. I know some people do, but I’m sure they’re mainlining heroin or something in the cupboard.

    @ Jent > Haha. It’s a slippery slope! Before you know it, you’ll be shouting at peole in the street and asking for an ‘endjie’. Oh hang on….that’s me on Saturdays.

    @ Gnu > so the secret is just to Go Left in an endlessly tightening spiral. Until the men in white coats come. With the booze.

    @ Dais > And rocking…you forgot the rocking. Gently bashing your forehead against the wall. And I’m off next week to the Grahamstown Festival for a week of theatre, interpretive dance, performance art and other ‘hey shooo wow’ stuffs. Which I’m rather looking forward to. Only, I’ll be without LB for a week. So that will suck.

    @ Kyk > Oh.My.God. You were there? Don’t tell me that was you, air guitaring on the left of the stage while the lead singer covered you in shaving cream? It was, wasn’t it? Rock on, dude!!

  9. nursemyra says:

    ooh I´ve been having a couple of those stuff up days. all sorts of problems with my plastic money that even a phone call to my bank back in australia couldn´t fix……

    but I solved it an hour ago and have my hands on some cash again *phew* that was skeery

    bring on the wine, I´m already drunk with relief

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > Noooooooooo. Money troubles while travelling are the worst kinda stuffs. Very delighted you’ve sorted it out. Dos vino blanco (or something) por vafor (*ahem*).

  11. Hello! Just popped in to say hi!

    Bye

    R

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Roberto > HOLA lovely. How are you? It’s been toooo long. Visit more often! How are the moors and the dog?

  13. iScatterling says:

    Hello Dolce!

    hey I am back 2nd day on the trot. Nice!

    Sad to say Axel the dawg died. He developed throat cancer. In the videos you can see when close up, he had a dark patch on his tongue which was the start. He was great right to the moment he was injected. Once the vet opened him up it was plain to see that the cancer spread down his throat to the stomach so a decision was made there and then to not bring him round. Best thing for him.

    The moors are splendid! Summer days and evenings are great. Daylight up to 10pm at night. Cool!

    Am working on a big project (my own) that will need me to eventually leave telcoms to focus on my business. Am so tired. Development is tiring and today is just too much for me.

    Need to come home for R&R but think I’ll go to Spain and West Indies for a break.

    Missed you. I ranted today at iScatterlings! I am a tosser!!

  14. Dolce says:

    Aaaah Rob darlin….I’m just delighted you popped in for a visit. I’ve been equally crap. But I have worked out how to use readers now, so will be keeping an eye on you! And I’m so, so, sorry about Axel…he was a damn fine pooch. Did you give him a good send off?

    Can you talk about the project. Or is it all very hush hush?

    Missed you too poppet. And you’re not a tosser…just busy in the real!

    Now go forth and blog summink, dammit.

Leave a Reply

