love at first site

My mum has her own business.  She does stuff for people.  Stuff people don’t have enough time to do.  She once washed a woman’s glass eye and found a snake man to deal with a cape cobra in a client’s garden.  And stuff.  And she’s really, really good at it.  Organising people’s lives and getting their stuff done.  I’ve been telling her for ages that it’s an awesome concept and that she should expand (or at least charge more) and she’s always umm’ed and aaah’ed. 

Too late mum.  The competition are in!  And they rock.  I’m in love. 

My Life Organised

Can you imagine.  Someone to do all that narky admin?  Someone to pick up that stuff from Woolies. Someone to grab the dry cleaning.  Someone to wait for the plumber and phone those call centrey places for quotes.  Someone to do the stuff.  Bliss.

Now, if only I could afford them.

😦

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “love at first site

  1. kyknoord says:

    I wonder how much they would charge to attend meetings for me?

  2. Dolce says:

    @ Kyk > Naaah, I think in this case the question should be: how much would you pay? :mrgreen:

  3. Parenthesis says:

    Get them to work on the old budget for you perhaps?

  4. jenty says:

    Sounds like something I could do with at this point!

  5. daisyfae says:

    how much for mind-reading? my challenge is that i often forget what i’m supposed to be doing, unless i write it down on a list, which is often on the back of a post-it note, and therefore rides off on the back of some other document, never to be seen again…. (sigh)

    Bring it… i need minions. if they aren’t going to magically appear on their own, worshipfully serving my every need, then i’ll buy them. if i can find my check book…

  6. thegnukid says:

    i tried that as a side adventure once—the “Eclectic Concierge”. i found that there was much less demand than my business model anticipated. okay, either that or i really suck at it… good thing i’m pretty good at other important stuff… ;->

  7. Seraphine says:

    i want it done correctly, i have to do it myself.
    picking up laundry or standing in line for me is helpful of course, but truly important things, I have to do myself.
    i’d pay a premium if somebody surprised me. you know, like picking up the laundry and remembering something i’ve forgotten completely about.

  8. 302 says:

    the economics of laziatus, still unaffordable for my lifestyle.

    actually saw this a while ago, i think there are a few similar type services, the one that got some attention was for people with little ones who travel, you get the service a list and everything will be on the other side, from prams to toys, so you don’t have to deal with the packing.

  9. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > budget? What budget?

    @ Jenty > I think every mother should get a couple of hours of this as part of their social services (aha hahahahahaha…in this country…hahahahaha)

    @ Dais > Minions, house elves, Oompa Loompas…I wants them. Who has time for stuff? Maybe they could even find your cheque book for you?

    @ Gnu > I suspect that it was the “eclectic” bit that worried people. One minute you’re all Mary Poppins, the next Mrs Doubtfire, and then, all of a sudden, Marilyn Manson. Ja. Not a model that works well for repeat business.

    @ Seraphina > There’s that old mind reading again. My mother does it. I suspect it’s because she’s been mixing toad blood and rainwater in the back garden over a cauldron again.

    @ 302 > Yet another reason to be faintly pleased I’m unbred at this point. *gag*…and Laziatus. Yes! That’s what I have.

  10. nursemyra says:

    I did that PA type of job for a while. I didn’t mind taking the dogs to the parlour and picking up the dry cleaning but I got fed up with reattaching the john holmes rubber penis to the shower wall every time it fell off…..

    true story

  11. michaelm says:

    *She once washed a woman’s glass eye
    There’s a post all by itself. :mrgreen:
    ~m

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > *splutter* yeah. I’d get a little pissed too. Although, I can top it. A mate of mine worked on top class celebrity yachts for a while. She once had to clean a poo out of of the shower of a well known American country singer. Um…no. She refused and was fired. Who the hell poos in their shower?

    @ ~m > Indeed…but every time I start to think about it, I feel queasy. Mum and I have always had an interesting relationship…you should read the post about the defrocked priest and the satanist. That was a kicker too!

  13. nursemyra says:

    who the hell poos in their shower? just about every patient at the gimcrack 😦

  14. daisyfae says:

    i wanna hear about the John Holmes penis! C’mon nursemyra! Tell us a story! Pleeeeeeeeeze?!?!?

  15. Rox says:

    I wish I could pay someone to handle my deadlines, but that would defeat the whole purpose of ‘work’ I guess, paying someone to do work that you then get paid back for.

    Although, at least you don’t have to do anything, so maybe it would be worth it.

  16. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > and once again I’m reminded why I’m not in a more caring profession!

    @ Dais > ME TOO ME TOO!

    @ Rox > I’m confused? 😉

  17. Rox says:

    Cos if I paid someone to do my work, then basically I would be giving them the money to do it instead of me, and I wouldn’t get paid.

    So all null and void. Like my logic, which incidentally seems to have been killed by deadlines, haha.

    Sorry hun, been a long few weeks. 😛

Leave a Reply

