T-Shirt Friday*: Remembering Hogmanay

*As always, in honour and at the request of our fiesty, sexy, fabulous Nurse M, aka Ma Baker.  She’s sure started somthing too….check out Dais and Silverstar

In Scotland, every new year, the folk of Edinburgh get together for a massive, ripsnortin’ piss up called Hogmanay.  Quite understandably, the backpackers of the world have rechristened it Snogmanay, largely because in the snow and wintery chill, snoggin’ yourself silly is often the only way to get warm.  The amount of booze you’ve imbibed has nothing to do with it, of course. 

I went to one once, a gazillion years ago.  And got given this T-shirt, which I fished out in honour of this T-shirt Friday:

(Apologies for the shite production values – sleepy stumblings at 7am do not good photos make).

Needless to say, after a dram too much of the local grog, I snogged some strange boy with a pierced tongue and then phoned everyone I knew to tell them how much I loved them.  80 squid on phone bills and a dodgey blue shirt.  Haha.  Not bad for a night up north.

Auld Lang Syne, by Robbie Burns

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and old lang syne ?

CHORUS:
For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

Tagged , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “T-Shirt Friday*: Remembering Hogmanay

  1. kyknoord says:

    Cellphone companies should offer a special rate for drunk dialing. Can I have my tongue stud back, by the way?

  2. nursemyra says:

    my oh my, I’ve just done a quick roundup to see what my posse’s been up to and you’ve all started without me!

    nursemyra’s contribution coming up soon…..

  3. I like your story. The closest I’ve come to doing something foolish on New Year’s Eve is to kiss a cop at midnight. Yeah, I was drunk. I’m sure he was impressed with me. OK, it was foolish.

  4. daisyfae says:

    you’re supposed to only behave this way once a year, on New Year’s Eve? shit. must have missed that memo… here’s your drink back. my turn! (and yes, child… uncanny…)

  5. thegnukid says:

    can i hold your t-shirt while you drink? wouldn’t want to muss it up, so you can keep wearing it while i hold it…

  6. Dolce says:

    @ Kyk > That was you. Phaoooowaaar! You’ve got hidden talents, my friend.

    @ Nurse M > Crackin’ that whip from Aus, and you’ve got all of us jumping. Ultra Vixen indeed.

    @ Silverstar > One New Year in london I stole a bobbie’s (London Policeman) hat and insisted on a photo – kind man let me get away with it. I was so cheeky. But not as cheeky as you, clearly! Did he kiss you back?

    @ Dais > Oh. I didn’t mention the bus ride up to Edinburgh, the night before and the reation to a plate of haggis the next night. That would make you judge me, right? (and I can only aspire, Jedi Master)

    @ Gnu > You’re not making any sense poppet. Here, have a wee scotch!

  7. Parenthesis says:

    Tubular T. I wants one!!!

  8. vapour says:

    God I’m such a pervert or maybe its because its late but I read the T.shirt thingy and was thinking how talented your one breast must be in order to be able to hold a drink then I realised…

  9. renalfailure says:

    Just don’t wear that t-shirt around Samurai Cathy. She can hold a drink and still draw her sword.

  10. […] bookmarks tagged grog T-Shirt Friday*: Remembering Hogmanay saved by 6 others     tekken666taker bookmarked on 08/29/08 | […]

  11. beaverboosh says:

    Can you hold my tackle while I snog your mate… or better better your twin sister!

  12. Tyger Katt says:

    I was just thinking that it might not be safe to wear that T in a dorpie pub in SA. I can just picture the fist fight that would result, right after the argument as to who you asked to hold the drink and who you are planning on snogging.

    However, would the pub patrons know what ‘snogging’ means? Hm, this could be an interesting experiment. Want to be the guinea pig? 🙂

  13. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > Maybe I’ll have them made and offer them up as prizes in my own dazzle me competition…which by the way, I had every intention of entering…I just ran out of time, as usual. Eish. Life and blogging…

    @ Vaps > you *are* such a pervert. Bless.

    @ RenalFailure > Eep! I’m scared shiteless of old Cath.

    @ Boooooooosch > You want to go fishing and snog my sister? Boys! Pah!

    @ Tyger Katt > Mmm….you’re givin’ me ideas here…*plot* * scheme*…I’ll provide photographic evidence if I’m brave enough. ahahhahaha.

Leave a Reply

