why

Because my head fits so perfectly in the corner of your shoulder. Because you see me.  Because you make me laugh.  Because you believe in integrity.  And poking dumb people with sticks. Because you’re honest with me.  Because you visit your folks every Sunday that you can.  Because you make me breakfast.  In bed.  Every weekend. Because you draw awesome crocodiles.  Because you say all the best things.  Because you tell me I’m beautiful.  Because you listen to me rant.  Because you’re my kind of stupid.  Because of the way you are with your child.  Because you’re so gobsmackingly smart.  Because you teach me stuff all the time. Because you’re generous.  Not just with money. Because you think the schnorting is cute.  Because you let me steal the food off your plate and drink from your cup.  Because you write me letters.  On paper.  With a  pen. Because you believe there aren’t enough love letters in the world.  Because you’re proud of me.  Because you’re interested.  And interesting.  Because I want to touch your dimples.  Every single time they appear.   Because you shiver when I whisper in your ear.  Because you keep half an eye on my cycle so that you won’t take me personally.  Because you’re kind to my mom.  Because you try to remember the convolutions of my mass produced family.  Because you think about when stuff is important to me.  Even when it’s not really.  Because money isn’t the most important thing. Because you always want to give me another one.  Because you believe that one is not enough.  Because you’re kind.  Because you’re sexy.  Because you make me feel sexy.  Because you pay attention. Because you put up with the whirl.  Because you don’t take it personally if you’re not invited.  Because you write like a writer and see the world with an artist’s eye.  Because you care about apostrophes.  Even when I don’t.  Because you make me feel better than I am.  Because I believe you. Because I believe in you. Because you love me touching you.  Because you don’t mind (much) when I sing.  Badly. Because you know more rude ditties than I do.  Because you’re interested in so many things.  And you share them with me.  Because you stroke my hair.  Because you rub my feet.  Because you do teeny things that you think I’ll like.  Because you make decisions, but then don’t mind if I change them.  Because you have a G.O.D. theory.  Because your friends respect you.  Because you have lists.  And remember stuff.  And remind me.  And I don’t seem to mind.  Because you smell so goddamn good.  Because you don’t judge me.  Or measure me.  Or try to change me.  Because of all the other things I know I’ve forgotten.  Because, already, I’m scare I take you for granted. But mostly because you’re you. YouYouYou.
Tagged , , , ,

25 thoughts on “why

  1. Tyger Katt says:

    Does he have a brother? 😉

  2. beaverboosh says:

    Sounds like you have found your soul mate. It is an amazing experience isn’t it! Are you his?

  3. clare says:

    Aaaack. snigger.

  4. clare says:

    Ooops. Where’s the edit button around here?

  5. daisyfae says:

    better than my answer of “why not?”…. Grinning madly for you from 8000 miles away. And “LB” shouldn’t just be for “laughing boy”, but for “lucky boy”… because he is!

  6. kyknoord says:

    Em See Ay! It’s fun to stay at the-
    What do you mean, “missed the point”?

  7. Dolce says:

    @ Kattya > He does, actually, but I don’t think he’d be your type. Actually, with that boy, I wouldn’t even think he was your species.

    @ Booooosch > Oh nice. Feed the paranoia. Pffft!

    @ Clare > no edit button in the blog of life, my friend. And other nauseating clichés.

    @ Dais > Lucky lucky lark lark lark…indeed. Me too. Lots. *much blushing and shuffling of feet*

    @ Kyk > You’re just pretending that you *like* having your hands handcuffed above your head…

  8. nursemyra says:

    *sigh*… luvverly…. I know what that feels like… *swoon*

  9. Mrs. Benitez says:

    It’s lovely to see you still having your cake and um… eating him, dear. By all accounts, the cake is just as grateful. 🙂

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > It is rather delicious, ain’t it? Aaaah, Nursie. I wish this again for you. When you’re ready. And your heart is open again.

    @ Mrs B. > Hellllllllllloooooooo!! How deeply fab to see your lurkage self lurking. Are you just here to smile faintly indulgently at my gushingness, or are you back on the innerweb? I hope, hope, hope the latter. I miss my Friday fix. And you know, when sometimes you just wanna thank people? Well I can think of a couple to whom I’d like to write a hand-penned note. With a bunch of flowers. And a fruit basket.

  11. Rox says:

    Aaaaaw, I just all warm and fuzzy there. I want one of the nice ones too!

  12. Rox says:

    Er, GOT all warm and fuzzy that is, lol.

  13. Dolce says:

    @ Rox > warm and fuzzy is rather delightful. I wish you one of the nice ones too.

  14. Seraphine says:

    all that isn’t one man, is it? because somebody going to find out and kidnap him. be sure he wears a blonde wig and a coat with a hood, disguide, and that he frive =s to work via a different route every day.
    so when he’s old and can’t remember your name, will you still love him?

  15. expensivemistakescheapthrills says:

    ah…..makes you all mushy inside, doesn’t it?

  16. Dolce says:

    @ Seraphina > Yes. And yes. But I don’t think he’d look very good as a blonde.

    @ Cheap Thrills > Hola! And welcome to the good life. I’m like a bowl of mashed potato. Or a pack of huskies. Mush central.

  17. Martin says:

    I don’t quite know what to say.

    Wow.

  18. Mrs. Benitez says:

    I’m just passing through for the moment, dear – but I’ll be back shortly. I’m just waiting for the voices to start up again.

    (I’m so glad you mentioned fruit baskets because, you know, not enough people send body par… things wrapped in cellophane these days, and it would be a terrible shame if they, too, went the way of the buffalo and the cocktail sausage. I’m just saying.)

  19. Seraphine says:

    gaa. sorry for all the mispellings in my earlier post.
    it was almost 3am, and i needed to get to bed.
    i should know better. but i liked the ‘lord’ holding
    stephen’s heart, and i’m a sucker for expressions of love

  20. oniongirl says:

    aaah dolla… finally. the one who can make you weak without making you fear…. like an absolute girl, without the need to compete.
    just delicious – all of it – and i’m so glad you’ve found it.

  21. thegnukid says:

    …you give me hope… it makes me glad to see you serene. and LB could also be ‘licentious boy’, ja?

  22. Dolce says:

    @ Martin > Aaaaw – thanks. And will you please stop working so hard and WRITE MORE! Loved the latest instalment!

    @ Mrs B > I couldn’t agree more. People just show enough of their violent tendancies appreciation these days. Do reconsider your relationship with teh interweb. It misses you.

    @ Seraphina > hahaha – I assumed you were either tired or B.U.I (blogging under the influence!) But no fear – I have bad typage days too. And Stephen’s heart jokes are killer. Literally. Go to the site for more!

    @ Onionlass > Good description, darlin’….exactly. And thanks *blish*

    @ Gnu > of course there’s hope – there’s always hope. My 78 year old step-granny married an 85 year old man. They had the best time. That was my hope flag!

  23. The Tart says:

    Lovely … Handcuffs & all!

    Big pink love cloud smooches,
    The Tart
    ; *

  24. Dolce says:

    @ The Tart > ta very much *grin*

Leave a Reply

