Night swimming*

 

 

Flat on my back, floating.  The night sky the colour of laughter.  Arms stretched wide and the stars a map to nowhere.  I’m floating.  And the waves hold me up like a lover.  The ocean as deep and dark and as silent as thinking.  An abyss of thought below me.  Layers of deep blue dreaming. Fish flicker.  Whales sigh and roll.  The moon is fat and full and fathomless.  A glitter road in the darkened night.  The kelp keeps time with the breath of the sea.  And my eyes close.  Submerged in cool, soft water.  Borne alone without compass or meaning.  Alone in the sea. 

________________________________

 

*still a fav.  Thanks Michael Stipe.

Tagged , ,

15 thoughts on “Night swimming*

  1. vapour says:

    Wonderful! Don’t know why but the words of that song by those chaps came back to me…”Sailing out on the blue, your old man and you, drifting along, the stars in yours eyes twinkled and shone, soon you’ll be gone…”

  2. Seraphine says:

    beautiful. you must be a pisces like i am.

  3. Love the picture of the moon.

  4. daisyfae says:

    sometimes alone. floating. not a bad thing…

    and thank fucking god for salt water, or i’d have sunk like a rock last time i tried this…

  5. kyknoord says:

    You fell asleep in the bath again, didn’t you?

  6. Tyger Katt says:

    Dolce, there be things in the sea with big teeth! 😮

  7. nursemyra says:

    lovely photo. did you take it?

  8. oniongirl says:

    awesome scene… and imagined sensations. i watched the ships out at sea from blouberg yesterday – and wished that i could be in one of them – just drifitng.
    found your post today and thought – wow! dolly too?!
    normally, i would agree with katt – there are noenoes in those waters – better a hammock for me – and a quiet breeze in the darkness.

  9. Parenthesis says:

    I’d like to float away like that right now ….

  10. thegnukid says:

    …from an ocean away, i join you, whispering to my stars for peace and calm…

  11. This is such an unbelievably beautiful and self-affirming image.

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Vaps > Don’t know that one mate, but the sentiment I’m in on!

    @ Seraphina > My dad’s a pisces…but I’m one of those two faced ones! But I think I was a werefish in another life. I love being in water. (and I’ve just been told to hold off on the baths – *sob*)

    @ Silverstar > Oh, I wish I took it, but I stole it. It is pretty hey?

    @ Dais > ever tried the dead sea? Now *that* rocks…except when you’ve just shaved your legs.

    @ Kyk > Close – I was just canooing home from work in all this rain and took some time out.

    @ Kattja > I’d rather be eaten by a shark than die of a chocolate cake induced heart attack…capishe?

    @ Nurse M > *shuffles feet*…nope – stoles it off the interweb…

    @ Oniongal > Thought you might like it – been a while since I’ve been whismical. It’s a nice place to be. And I like the noenoes. Most of them. Except the stinging ones. Eep.

    @ Ms P > Are you calling yourself a floater? 😉

    @ Gnudle > Welcome to the water, my man.

    @ Mandaloon > Ja. I like those moments of calm. Before the world clammers in again.

  13. Wenchy says:

    That song seriously messes with my head.

  14. Dolce says:

    @ Wenchy > Mine too. That man’s voice is a portal.

  15. michaelm says:

    I saw ‘night swimming’ and thought of something totally different.
    Going to wash my mouth out with soap now.
    :mrgreen:
    ~m

Leave a Reply

