Interesting time

Well, at least no more parliamentary sessions, Thabo old chap

Well, at least no more parliamentary sessions, Thabo old chap

 

 

It’s rather hard to remain positive about your land of birth when the president was forced to resign and half the cabinet has walked out in protest.

 

Mbeki might have made serious mistakes (what leader hasn’t), but he got me with his “I am an African” speech. 

On an occasion such as this, we should, perhaps, start from the beginning.

So, let me begin.

I am an African.

I owe my being to the hills and the valleys, the mountains and the glades, the rivers, the deserts, the trees, the flowers, the seas and the ever-changing seasons that define the face of our native land.

My body has frozen in our frosts and in our latter day snows. It has thawed in the warmth of our sunshine and melted in the heat of the midday sun. The crack and the rumble of the summer thunders, lashed by startling lightening, have been a cause both of trembling and of hope.

The fragrances of nature have been as pleasant to us as the sight of the wild blooms of the citizens of the veld.

The dramatic shapes of the Drakensberg, the soil-coloured waters of the Lekoa, iGqili noThukela, and the sands of the Kgalagadi, have all been panels of the set on the natural stage on which we act out the foolish deeds of the theatre of our day.

At times, and in fear, I have wondered whether I should concede equal citizenship of our country to the leopard and the lion, the elephant and the springbok, the hyena, the black mamba and the pestilential mosquito.

A human presence among all these, a feature on the face of our native land thus defined, I know that none dare challenge me when I say – I am an African!

 

(click here for the whole thing…it’s beautiful)
And he did incredible things for SA in terms of growth, foreign investment and development.  I’m going to miss him.  As for Trev!  Don’t gooooooo!


May you live in interesting times indeed?

L

 

*Image from BBC.co.uk

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Interesting time

  1. Seraphine says:

    i have to say, he has a
    wonderful way with words.
    beautiful. beautiful.

  2. I wish we had a Congress with the balls to impeach the President we’ve got. The I AM African speech sounds a lot like the speech Chief Seattle gave in 1854.

  3. Jeanette says:

    it sure has been an interesting week so far!

  4. Parenthesis says:

    I’m not exactly a Mbeki fan. For everything he did right on the economic front, he screwed up by for instance, keeping individuals like Manto around. However he’s far preferable to what’s coming. And he should be given the opportunity to clear or at least defend his good name.
    For now he has my vote ….

  5. daisyfae says:

    wow. seems that sometimes a leader with vision isn’t enough… at this point in the US, i’d settle for a talking dog if he spoke of vision, spoke with such eloquence, and could plant a flag for a better – unified and inclusive – future. hope things improve…

  6. oniongirl says:

    heck dolly – i reckon i’m just biased – because the first thing i thought upon reading the speech:

    :awesome. wonder who actually wrote it?

    i’m sure he has some merit – but the stance on the hiv/aids issue just killed any faith i had in the old bugger.

    but – rather the devil you know…? ‘mshini wam’ leaves me even colder. ice cold.

  7. Tyger Katt says:

    Interesting times indeed, Dolce!

    I’m beginning to think that these days when a person gets to place a mark on a ballot paper, it’s a case of chosing which one you think is the lesser of the evils.

    Cry the beloved country! 😦

  8. Parenthesis says:

    TygerKatt: Think you may have hit the nail on the head …. 😦

  9. Vapour says:

    I dunno Dolce

    I was speaking to yet another Taxi driver (They are such wise fellows) anyhow Alfred tells me that this is a blessing in disguise, that finally this will remove the overwhelming majority that the ANC has had over the past 5 years, that our people are more educated now. Alfred is a Zulu, a self made man who owns three taxi’s. He doesn’t trust Zuma, says a man with so many wives will be too exhausted to run a country. Don’t you just love the common mans perspective. If I was common I suppose I’d have an interesting perspective as well. But alas I am unique.

  10. Birdman of Eden says:

    I’d be interested to see what he puts on his CV under “reasons for leaving previous employer”

  11. Dolce says:

    @ Sera > i don’t know who his speech writer is, but dammit, they got me goooood!

    @ Silverstar > Yeah. I never did understand why one US pres got impeached for sex with an intern, but the one who killed a gazillion folk and rubber stamped torture is still playing old boys club with the rest of his crew? Eish. Politics.

    @ Jeanette > Aaaah, but apparently we shouldn’t panic…yeah. Right.

    @ Ms P > He fucked it up huge on the HIV/AIDS issue. But at least he doesn’t think it’s cured by taking a shower. I’m seriously skeptical about old Zuma…but then again, all the spin makes me feel like I’m in a remake of the exorsist.

    @ Dais > things are gonna get a whoooooole lot worse, me thinks. Fortunately, LB and I are going to stockpile chocolate and Vanity Fairs and wait the whole thing out in bed.

    @ Oniongal > Yeah. Colder than a witchdoctor’s tit, face down on the shower floor.

    @ Katya and Ms P > bingo! In fact, that’s what I’m going to yell next time, when I mark an X on each one…just to make my point.

    @ Vaps > *grin* Well, the “experts” say he’s just the populist puppet, so maybe all that wife (and miniskirt girl wearing) bonking is all he really does. Eish. Either way, my friend, can I join you in Uganda or where ever it is you’ve found?

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Birdman > *cackle* Ja…um…ja…well, you see, I got…um….fired. But it wasn’t my fault. There was this other kid…ahem…president…um…comrade person..ja.

Leave a Reply

