Introducing JMR*

Aaah, little boy.  The whorl of your tiny ear, tilted up to my whispering breath.  The plump folds of thigh and the strength of your grip.  The sweet chortle that makes a room light up.  Every moment a new one.  I didn’t know I could love you so quickly. How strange that this new life holds the love of a friendship of decades.  How strange that I know you, somehow.  Not just in your father’s eyes and your mother’s toes.  But in the way that one soul recognises another.  In the way that a circle closes.  In the way that the sun turns and the moon moves.  I hold you, little one.  I catch a glimpse of what must be every mother’s paradox; the joy of the possibility in your unfettered life against the cold fear of the world which waits for you.  And with my whole self I wish for you an infinite world.  An unrestrained life.  One lived well and full and without censor.  I miss you.

 

cute kid

cute kid

* my best mate has been out from the UK for a visit with her new baby boy, Mr JMR.  They left this week.  Sjoe.  It’s been hard. 

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Introducing JMR*

  1. Pete says:

    That’s one exceptionally cute baby bean! (But then his parents are pretty cute too). Definitely sounds like he’s a heart-stealer that one.

  2. nursemyra says:

    adorable baby. I can see why you’re smitten

  3. kyknoord says:

    That looks suspiciously like an “I’m gonna hurl” expression to me.

  4. Dolce says:

    @ Pete > totally! I’m smote! He is one helluva baby boy.

    @ Nurse M > Entirely unfair when the womb inadvertently (and rather mutinously) starts nudging you in the lungs. They’re like drugs, babies. You can’t be rational when they’re around. Ai yai yai.

    @ Kyk > Would have been a rather nasty (if hilarious) surprise for the person who’s shoulders he was riding on at the time… :mrgreen:

  5. He is a cutie! I found that there was a time in my life that my womb did that to me, and I think you are that age. It goes away eventually, one way or another.

  6. daisyfae says:

    they’re cute,but remember that they are full of disgusting fluids that are prone to paint your clothing at the most unexpected time….

  7. roxilla says:

    Oh Dolce, I can really relate to that feeling… my best mate is currently down from Zambia (yes, Zambia!) to have her second child, which she had last Monday.

    He’s a precious little bundle, and so different yet so similar to his lovely 20 month old sister. Being with them once again to share this has been amazing, but it’s going to be very hard to have them leave once again.

    The thing is though, like you said – it’s a connection that will be there, despite distance. And having the brief time with them is totally worth the missing that follows when they leave.

    God, I’ve gotten myself all worked up now, lol. 😛

  8. ExMi says:

    you feel *that* strongly as a friend? wait until you feel *that* as a mother.

    there’s absolutely nothing like it. in the whole world.

    and it’s as scary as all hell.

  9. Dolce says:

    @ Silverstar > Bloody womb. It’s like a frikkin’ mutiny.

    @ Dais > too true. This one is rather fond of the old projectile vomit trick. Thinks it’s hilarious.

    @ Rox > Eish. It’s seriously seriously tough. We were all supposed to go through this together. Bah humbug to international lives.

    @ ExMi > I’m not all that sure that I *want* to be that hostaged to some leaking bag of babyness. Eeek.

  10. thegnukid says:

    you know they make them cute like that to keep their parents from wanting to throw them in the river when they cry, puke, or other totally normal, if disgusting, bodily function…

  11. Dolce says:

    @ Gnu > hahaha! Nature’s a crafty bitch, ain’t she?

Leave a Reply

