A grommet of wallace* and stuff

I don’t really care how kak the new Bond film is, Daniel Craig is worth the price of admission.  He’s just the kind of deeply wounded, savage, grumpy boy that girls like me like to drool over.

Poor LB.  I don’t think he’s all that keen.  But he’s coming along.  Bless him.  To support me in my high-action addiction (he doesn’t trust me much after being dragged to see the really kak Indiana Jones and the even kakker last offering of the Mummy series).  As I said, I have an addiction.

(*He has christened the film A grommet of Wallace.  Much better than the original title, I think.)

On the note of LB.  Have I mentioned just how awesome he is?  We natter about books from time to time and I mentioned how I’ve always wanted to read Pratchett, but that I’m the type of reader who has to start at the beginning of a “series” and work my way through (I’m a bit OCD about it actually), and so I’d never read Pratchett, because I’d never found the Colour of Magic.

So he found it and bought it for me.  *melt*.  Seriously.  The boy is rather fabulous, really.

I started it last night.  Hooked.  With a big Terry Pratchett shaped hook.  They were *ALL* right.  I love Pratchett already.  Oooh. 

Thank you LB.  You!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “A grommet of wallace* and stuff

  1. nursemyra says:

    DC does it for me 🙂

  2. More a Sean Connery fan myself, but then I’m old.

  3. Rox says:

    I am not a big DC enthusiast, or a 007 fan either. All those bloody adverts pimping Quantum of Solace have not helped I might add, talk about overkill!

    However, I am a massive Pratchett fan and have read just about every single Discworld book. Not in order either, although it does help to have some sort of chronological sequence to follow the plot.

    Pure escapism, through and through… awesome stuff.

  4. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    @ Silverstar > And technically, Roger Moore will always be the real Bond for me. But there is something about that DC…

    @ Stevo > flip, lols lols lols. Silliness is essential.

    @ Roxi > Ja ja. But I just love it when stuff explodes and sweaty, dirty men wrestle with each other. *sigh* But the Pratchett is pure heaven. LOVES IT!

  5. kyknoord says:

    Curled up in bed with a good book, instead of with someone who’s read one? Sounds to me like someone isn’t doing his job.

  6. daisyfae says:

    DC is a bit too pouty, too “metro” for my tastes… but i probably wouldn’t give him the boudoir boot for reading Stephen King in bed…

  7. nursemyra says:

    daisyfae, Have you seen him in “The Mother”?

  8. gullybogan says:

    Speaking as someone who has OCD, i don’t think wanting to read a series from the beginning is something only our ppl do… i would imagine it would take quite a wanton mind to just begin somewhere in the middle of a universe-arc (which is why it’s taking me so long to read the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood… sourcing all the damn things!).

  9. daisyfae says:

    @nm – no… haven’t had much time to watch flicks, but if he’s tasty-hot, then it might be worth a netflix rental and a cheap bottle of pinot grigot…

    dolce – hopefully LB doesn’t read the blog. might get overconfident and stop being Dream Date… smack him around a bit. keeps them edgy!

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Kyk > Oh no. I have to read at home. LB makes sure I’m distracted with other activities when he’s there! :mrgreen:

    @ Dais > I didn’t say it made sense. I’m a victim of my body.

    @ Nurse M > Mmmm. Another one to look out for.

    @ Gullyb > Strangely, the books are the only things I get really obsessive about (well, ok, not the only thing). And ja, I’ll spend a fortune sourcing the one bit that I haven’t got in a collection.

    @ Dais > Treat ’em mean, keep ’em keen. I’ve told him that. While I’m waterboarding him. Poor dear.

  11. oniongirl says:

    something must be wrong with me dolly… dont like the bond boy – agreed on the metro man take – but harsher… i’d boot him for a good read. why the hell cant dave navarro act?

    and then… i dont do pratchett. without exceptions. diablo has just about every bluidy book – and i’d rather haul out an old poetry volume than sink my teeth into terry. doesnt make me laugh or gasp – and i wish he would. then again, i dont like black adder funnies either.

    ah well. best to give it up as a wasted effort and stick to the blood and gore – which is what i do so well 😉

    good to see you ‘up’ dollydarlin’.

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Oniongal > I love that we can be so different, and still see so much the same 🙂 And it’s a fekkin’ roller coaster this month. Eish.

Leave a Reply

