A Daliesque Day

Image from here.

I’ve had a little bit of a Dali-esque day.  Strange telephone conversations.  Missed meetings. Decidedly odd interweb happenings.  Surreal.  And it reminded me of when I first studied history of art at UCT.  How we moved through the cherubs and gilt to the realists and then the impressionists.  The latter were my favourite, actually, but the surrealists came a very close second.  In fact, Dali himself challenged the way I thought about stuff.  Lured me into the wormhole.  Tore off the very suburban veil of seeing things just as they are.  Gave the questioning a gentle push into the direction of “what if this is just an illusion, what if…”

He also had the most amazing ‘tach. 

So when life cocks up in ways that don’t make sense.  If I’m lucky. I can remember to sit back.  Watch it happen.  And keep an eye out for the melting clocks.

11 thoughts on “A Daliesque Day

  1. Tonight, go straight to Cinema Nouveau and watch “Vicky Christina Barcelona”… if you are looking for a holiday & inspiration & all in a moment of art! I feel so rejuvenated from watching that!

    As for Dali – I think I am still mindfkced from his museum in Paris (was it Paris???) with all his sculptures!

  2. Dolce, you gorgeous lady!, go straight to Cinema Nouveau tonight and watch “VICKY CHRISTINA BARCELONA” for a complete holiday & rejuvenation in a piece of art! I watched it last night and am feeling so inspired!

    Other than that, I am still dealing with the mindfck from years ago, after seeing Dali’s sculptures in some Parisean museum.

  3. kyknoord says:

    Well hello, Dali.

  4. thegnukid says:

    it could’ve been worse… a Dante-esque kind of day, for example.

  5. I’ve had days like this, but I never knew what to call them. Thanks.

  6. Miss P says:

    Date-esque is a perfection description for a Thursday …

  7. Miss P says:

    PS
    Have tightened visibility settings on my little pad. I’ve added you as a visitor. If you no can get in, shoot me a mail at ultrafabulousparenthesis@gmail.com

  8. daisyfae says:

    thanks for the Dali-ance… my clocks have melted. and if i don’t keep up with the waxing? i could probably grow that damn mustache at my age…

  9. nursemyra says:

    I love his cat! Is it an ocelot?

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Champers > It really is good to see your name pop up again…even if it’s been so long that my comment filter didn’t recognise you 🙂 And I will I will. Sounds like a good one!

    @ Kyk > this is Louis, Dali. It’s so nice to have you back where you belong!

    @ Gnu > or a Macheavellianesque kinda day. Well, actually, that depends on who’s doing the scheming!

    @ Silverstar > Goodie! I like making stuff up for people!

    @ Ms P > ta darlin’…and what’s with the security? You runnin’ from the law?

    @ Dais > I think you’d look HOT with a ‘tach!

    @ Nurse > Are you going to titilate it?

  11. Miss P says:

    Not so much the law as the work IT Nazi’s.
    Hence new blog url at http://onehalfofaconversation.wordpress.com.
    Be sure to update blogroll!

Leave a Reply

