Buddism and dealing with Barons Claremont…

According to Buddism there are Four Noble Truths:

1. Suffering exists

2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires

3. Suffering ceases when attachment to desire ceases

4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path

Well.  Let me tell you something.  Suffering exists because Baron’s Claremont exists. 

The short version?  They are the recommended service providers for Volkswagen in SA.  I have a Golf Chico, for my sins.  In a misguided attempt to keep its perfect service record, I’ve dutifully popped off to Barons for every service.  Except, they’re a bunch of rip off artists. 

I’ve had a dodgy noise emanating from my dashboard for months.  At the last service, I asked them about it.  Naturally (and sod you, Murphy) said noise was absent when they checked, so cue a shrug and a “sorry lady, we can’t help you”.

Noise gets worse.  I take a camera phone video. 

I phone for an emergency appointment.  They say they can only fit me in sometime in the next millennium.  So I go into their office to complain and see if I can get an earlier appointment.  Because, you see, I’m worried. 

Service manager first tries to tell me that they don’t offer “emergency appointments” because dodgey cars aren’t life threatening.  (Do you LIVE in South Africa, moron?)  He sees me begin to boil, so he cleverly shuts up,  attempts to help me, diagnoses the problem, quotes me R3 800, which is a LOT of money and tells me to come back on the 19th. 

I go back.  Leave car.  Get phone call saying “we don’t have the right part.”  So, like every self respecting consumer, I lose it completely and write a strongly worded letter of complaint to Barons, the principle dealer, VW SA and a consumer watch editor at a local paper. 

The principle dealer gets back to me.  Very apologetic.  Very efficient voice.  Promises the car will be dealt with on the 22nd.   I move more meetings.  Arrange to take the car in AGAIN.  They fix car.  Manage, somehow, to discount the cost by almost 40% for “the inconvenience” (how much ARE they ripping me off under usual circumstances?) and send me on my way.

This morning, I get in car and attempt to turn on the radio.  Broken.

Riiiiiiiiight. 

I’m STILL waiting to hear back from VW complaints.  I’ve now got to take my car BACK to Barons at lunch time for them to look at the sound system.  And I’ve run out of patience.

Barons, not only have you lost a customer, you’ve now got one who will now actively go out of her way to tell everyone she ever comes across that you suck. 

VW, when I upgrade, which will be in the next two years, I will be buying another brand.

Here endeth the rant.

*deep breath*

Ommmmmmmmmm.

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Buddism and dealing with Barons Claremont…

  1. nursemyra says:

    does your glorious chest feel lighter now?

    🙂

  2. kyknoord says:

    Deep, loving breaths and the Noble Truth will set you free. Incidentally, have you considered submitting your video as an entry in the next local short film festival?

  3. daisyfae says:

    let go of your desire for reliable transportation, with tunes? fuck that… that’s a human rights violation, that’s what that is. bastards…

  4. After I got ripped off a couple of times, once by my Dad, I learned to tell them what to do. Otherwise, I would have been constantly putting fuel pumps in Toyotas that only needed fuel filters. But that’s annoying. Sometimes I think the dealerships are rip-offs entirely, and you need to find a good, honest mechanic. But good luck with that.

  5. Vapour says:

    I think you’re over revving it 🙂 . I have been testing small cars for about six months now. I have tested the Golf Chico and I think its kak. I also tested the Toyota which is also kak. The Indigo was kak too. In actual fact with the exception of the Kia Picanto most of them were just kaaaaak. And then people ask me why I spend so much on a car pfft it takes many Moola not to drive kak.

  6. Pete says:

    I would say ditch the perfect service record and get a good, honest, reliable mechanic. I can recommend one if you need it. Barons will over-charge you every time and the service is mostly (in my limited experience) not satisfactory. But maybe with enough ranting at them they will get it right. Good luck, Dolce.

  7. Sassy Miss P says:

    Does the Eightfold Path include advice on how to throttle your mechanic with the seat belt of your car, how to lovingly tap him on the head with a monkey spanner? In a loving caring manner of course, we get that Buddhism is about non violence. It would be a mighty fine way to restore your tranquility however 😉

  8. Иван says:

    Отлично написано! Буду много думать…

  9. beaverboosh says:

    Ja, glad you got that off you chest, it was spoiling your titty karma. Grasshopper, free yourself of the attachement of desire… and replace it with attachment to garage violence…

  10. Dolce says:

    @ Nurse M > *blush* it’s not too glorious at the moment. I MUST get back to the gym…

    @ Kyk > you think the world is ready for it?

    @ Dais > oh, they fucked up my tunes too! Arseheads.

    @ Silverstar > Getting a couple of recommendations….I’m over the official guys.

    @ Vaps > Beggars can’t be chosers darling. Wanna be my sugar daddy?

    @ Pete > would love a recommendation. Thanks chook.

    @ Sassy Ms P > pass me the monkey wrench….there’s a certain poetic irony in that!

    @ Nbah > Yes. And then bring me some yak milk.

    @ Boooooosch > What will my titties come back as, do you think?

Leave a Reply

