cookie monster

Baking *AND* geek humour?  What's wrong with me?

I’m not a domestic goddess. And, truth be told, I don’t actually like cake and biscuits and cookies and stuff; I’d rather eat a nice big bag of chips. 

But I am partial to pottering around in the kitchen and there is nothing quite like the smell of warm cookies straight out of the oven.  So last night, in some strange fit of Nigellaness, I got home from work, whipped out the kitchen chef and made peanut butter cookies. 

Easy? Tick!  Smell great? Tick.  Make the work colleagues happy? Tick.

Now, what to do with the other 2 dozen of the things?

you said balls! Nhurhurhur         mmmmm coooookies            too many damn cookies

Recipe:
 ½ cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, ½ cup butter, ½ cup peanut butter, 1 egg, 1 ½ cups flour, ½ teaspoon soda, ½ teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla essence.

Cream butter and sugar. Mix in egg and peanut butter, then flour, salt, soda.  Finally add essence.

You’ll have a large crumbly mixture which will hold together when manipulated and rolled into small balls.  Place on greased tray and press down with fork.  Bake for 15mins in a moderate oven (180degreesC)

Chef’s hint (hahahahahahahahah, I crack myself up): if you use crunchy peanut butter, you’ll have a drier, more crumbly cookie…use a little less flour if you prefer.

YUM

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “cookie monster

  1. Sassy Miss P says:

    “You’ll have a large crumbly mixture which will hold together when manipulated and rolled into small balls”.
    For some reason that sentence kept re-arranging itself to say something quite different in my mind’s eye. I’m sure the cookies were delish however, ta for the recipe.

  2. kyknoord says:

    All those ticks. Are you sure you fumigated properly?

  3. daisyfae says:

    “whipped out the kitchen chef…”

    where do you keep yours? mine bitches because i’ve got him under the sink, next to the trash bin….

  4. nursemyra says:

    oh daisyfae…….. you’ve given me hiccups

  5. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > *tut* *tut* get your mind out of the gutter girl!

    @ Kyk > That must be were the bite fever comes from!

    @ Dais > On top of the fridge. I only take him down on special occassions. The rest of the time he mocks me from above.

    @ Nurse M > *WAH*…there, I gave you a fright…still hiccupping? PS, have you been affected by the fires Nursie. So horrifically sad.

  6. Sassy Miss P says:

    Whatever for? It’s so much more fun down here …. :mrgreen:

  7. beaverboosh says:

    I got stuck on the some strange fit of Nigellaness… delicious…

  8. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > I cannot argue with that.

    @ Boooooosch > Oh god, not you too?

  9. Seraphine says:

    my non-negotiable is my monthly massage. if push comes to stampede, i can always do my own pedicure. but hey, whether your pleasure is having your feet rubbed or nibbling chocolate or jogging, indulge yourself. it would be a poor life indeed not to enjoy the “living” part of it.

  10. gullybogan says:

    Broadband.

  11. Dolce says:

    @ Sera > I wish I could afford a monthly massage. *plot* *scheme*…and I can’t do my toes myself…too much shaking for some reason.

    @ GBogan > Aaah…so I shouldn’t get it, or it will be on the list too…bugger.

  12. oniongirl says:

    eeep. i’ve had those fits often enough to qualify for a fekking disability grant.

    fortunately, due to my diminutive kitchen space in the current living quarters, it seems to be clearing up – no need to become a taxpayers responsibility just yet 🙂

  13. Dolce says:

    @ OG > do you make “special” cookies? *grin*

Leave a Reply

