Non-negotiable necessities…

Fergi-licious

I’m partial to pedicures.  Nothing makes me feel more glamorous than having pretty feet.  My monthly pedi is my non-negotiable.  I will always find the loola for a pedi.  My reasoning is; when I was a smoker, I always had the money for smokes.  Even when I was a dirt poor student, I would still hunt out coins from the back of the sofa and the bottom of the car to afford singles.  I would borrow money for ciggies.  I would flirt with boy smokers to get my fix.  I always managed to score that old nicotine.

So,  I reckon, now that I’ve given up smoking, I can spend that money on pedis.  In fact, in the five years since I gave up coffin nails, it’s now cheaper to have gorgeous tootsies than it is to inhale burning tobaccy.

My incredible pedi lady understands my obsession.  We might fight over colour (she’s into pink, I love dark, blood reds), but we agree that a paint should last 3 weeks at least and that the foot massage is the best part. 

But lately, with all things global feeling the dire pinch of recession, I’ve been feeling a teeny niggle of guilt.  I’ve been wondering if I should be spending this money on something so utterly frivolous.  But then I think dammit, I can give up a whole lot of things before I give up my monthly indulgence.  There are other things, like wine, or food, that I can give up if it’s gets really dire.

The pedis stay.

What’s your non-negotiable?

Tagged , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Non-negotiable necessities…

  1. beaverboosh says:

    Sex. And if I am a good boy, Mrs. BB doesn’t make me pay for it! By gods you are up early girl!

  2. nursemyra says:

    fruit. I love fruit and eat lots of it though I don’t restrict myself to apples and oranges. Berries and stone fruit are more expensive but I love ’em and ain’t about to give ’em up

  3. vanessa says:

    Books. I will give up everything, including food and smokes, to make sure I can buy books every month.

  4. Dolce says:

    @ Boooosch > Lawd, at the rate my cashflow is shrinking, free sex is replacing all my other entertainment. Who am I kidding, that’s been the case for a while now. Grin.

    @ Myra > Blueberries with greek yoghurt, almonds and honey…mmmmmm

    @ Vanessa > HOLA! And ja, books. I didn’t even think about books, because they’re another must have. Like oxygen. Oh dear. I’m going to have to find another income. *sigh*

  5. Sassy Miss P says:

    I’m currently saving hell for leather for three things: the transfer fees and associated annoyances on the house I am about to buy … more about this before the end of Feb and 2] and 3] two trips to the US I will be making in June and September respectively. The first one to Florida is business and all reasonable expenses are paid, whatever that means. The other, in September to NY is for no holds barred holiday for moi, by moi, and feck, is it going to cost. I can hardly wait *squirm* Normally my no-negotiables would include books, powders and potions [ala Rain range] and probably red wine. And I agree with your choice of nail colour. Pink says “nice”. Red now …

  6. daisyfae says:

    [hanging head in shame] pro hair coloring… would not attempt it on my own. seen too many disasters… oh, and mani/pedi. i even get “toe bling” – the little rhinestones glued on?

  7. 302 says:

    excluding the basics like hot water, electricity, wine and women and the accessories that come with the territory…

    that espresso machine. music. books (incl my month monocle subscription). TV. solitude. newsnow.co.uk

  8. Chocolate…..and thank GOD blogging is free!

  9. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > a new house….oooooh! How divine! Yes, that’s going to dent the wallet!

    @ Kyk > I love that you’re so low maintenance.

    @ Dais > No shame there madame. It’s necessary! For the good of mankind! And I love the rhinestones, but they dig into my shoes 😦

    @ 302 > Eish. The good life, huh? *wry smile*

    @ Olga > PRAISE BE!

  10. JHBPRINCESS says:

    I have to agree with you 110% – i CANNOT go with out my monthyly pedi. I’m also in the red phase of my life..and it’s gorgeous.

    My facial and pedi is the only constant standing appointment in mylife. There really is nothing i hate more than ugly toes… Makes me feel like a Yeti!!

    Honestly – i would go with out food before i did my own toes.

  11. Dolce says:

    @ JHBPrincess > Welcome to the good life. And I just can’t reach my toes properly, otherwise I might. However! The lovely man appears to be able to paint toes with skill…so I might have an alternative. *evil grin*

  12. oniongirl says:

    puke. you lot are so fekking wholesome!

    my smokes – i dont recognise myself in pub mirrors without a fag in my hand (yep. left me wide open. on purpose)

    olive oil. cranberry white rock cheese. good mascara. loads of gigs.that is all.

    i’m an absolute peasant in the girlie sense. couldnt be fluttered. barefoot. clipped up hair. confession done for the day. phew!

  13. Dolce says:

    @ Onion lady > From one peasant to another…. 😉

Leave a Reply

