Rule Britannia

Right.  So I’m going to the UK for 2 months for work.  Yes.  For 2 months.  That’s 9 weeks.  I leave next Friday. 

*gulp*

Admittedly it was my suggestion.  Remote managing a project from Africa when the majority of the delivery team is in the UK does not make sense.  Neither does communicating with a global network of 22 locations from a continent with no real broadband to speak of. 

So I put up my hand and suggested I run the first 2 months of project from our London office.  They agreed.  Well, actually, they got all gung ho and suggested I stay for 3 to 4 months, but fortunately it wasn’t possible for various reasons. Thank god.

But now I’m nervous.  I’m feeling that niggling doubt that I’m not up to this.  That I’ll get there and they’ll laugh and send me home to mummy. 

And I’ve just realised that if I can barely go 3 days without pouncing on the delicious Mr Noord, then how the hell am I going to manage 63?  Then again, with shops like this and this to visit, Mr Noord might need the 63 days to prepare for my return*.

And I can gorge on galleries and Britains Got Talent and mushroom crossaints.

Either way, Totsiens Okies** and Hello Old Chum! 

 

*Innuendo aside.  I don’t wanna.  And he refuses to squash into my roll on case. 
** Afrikaans for Goodbye Dudes.

19 thoughts on “Rule Britannia

  1. JHBPRINCESS says:

    Well…i for one am excited for you!!

    Those shops excite me too… that snow doesn’t. At all. But boots do.

    There’s always an up side…

  2. daisyfae says:

    Oh, cool! i’ve got to see if i can cook up an excuse to hit the UK…. that would be just fabulous fun! You’ll be fine – you know more about your job than any one else, so just blow in and do that voodoo that you do so well doo-be-doo-be-dooo-dooooooo!

  3. Sassy Miss P says:

    The fact that they wanted you to stay for four months speaks volumes – don’t let those piffling little inner voices make you doubt what you can do. I’m sure you’ll do splendidly well. Be sure to post lots and lots about your adventures xx

  4. nursemyra says:

    wow – that’s exciting news! what a shame it isn’t in june/july. I’d break my ban on London and meet you there with daisyfae.

    congratulations on the promotion. and just think about the reunion sex – it’ll be even more mind blowing than what you’re getting now.

  5. Dolce says:

    @ JHBPrincess > oooh, I’d forgotten about boots…yessss, boooots!

    @ Dais > YEEEEHAA! I think that’s an excellent idea! Start packin’ lady!

    @ Ms P > thank you…I need you on voice recorder to remind me! 🙂

    @ Jents > thanks darlin’…

    @ Kyk > 😦

    @ Nurse M > I know…and I’ve got a mate who’s getting married in August, so the timing really sucks. And ja…and the goodbye sex before that *grin*

  6. JHBPRINCESS says:

    What about the holiday… haven’t seen you for ages…oh my god i miss you so much…my bed is so empty with out you…. sex when he pop’s over for a weekend visit…??

    I have to say i read the kyknoord/dolce love story on woman24 yesterday.

    Ah… guys… i wanna be in love too now!!

    Congrats!!

    🙂

  7. redframe says:

    Wow, I’m jealous! London (within a limited time frame) is the most fabulous place, and surely the Spring will come soon? As for the shopping, I can’t even bear the thought. Congrats and good luck and enjoy!

  8. Dolce says:

    @ JHBPRINCESS > I don’t know that he’ll be able to pop over for a weekend visit…more’s the pity. *weep*. And thanks *grin*

    @ Redframe > Hey lady! So with you on the limited timeframe…and I’m hopeing for daffodils! *hope* *hope*

  9. Dusty Muffin says:

    Good grief woman. When you break news, you do it propergood. No stuffing around here.

    Hmm…Might have to send you on a recce mission to Samuel French.

    Tally ho, Bon voyage and all that.

  10. Oooo fun!!! Enjoy it! Travel is always great for “the soul”…and for more creative writing.

  11. 302 says:

    Have a pleasant little 63 day stay – are you going there to lead the ‘famous economic rescue plan’ – are you just.

  12. Dolce says:

    @ Dusty Muff > Did he invent the tongue kiss?

    @ Champers > *sigh* I’m going to try. But I suspect they’re actually going to want me to work!

    @ 302 > My shopping alone will make a positive impact, I fear.

  13. Pete says:

    Oh wow, I can see how you would be excited, daunted etc. at the same time. Hope you have a great time – and have a browse of a few bookshops for me. Oh, and some pics of your fabulous exploits.

  14. Dolce says:

    @ Pete > Thanks darlin’….I’ll be (over)sharing as usual… *grin*

  15. vapour says:

    Hmm only saw this now. Well if you’ve already landed and flew SAA then that’s good. They are high flyers that lot. Good to go to London every now and again. Reminds one of how lucky we are not to be there on a permanent basis. Enjoy it Dolce.

  16. oniongirl says:

    jaaaaaintieee- kom huuuiiis toe… k.noord, hy wag vir j…

    ja. heaps of dutch blood crawling through these veins. believe it.

    lucky girl. have a blast!

  17. Dolce says:

    @ Vaps > What game do the SAA crew play on flighhts? Whose line is it anyway? haha! ;D

    @ Oniongal > Believe it, coz it’s true! Thanks darlin’! Am missing the boy with a visceral pull. But it’s also good to remember why I left London in the first place. (and the shopping is FAB)

Leave a Reply

