And then the banana said hello…

It’s been one of those London weekends.  I’ve seen a banana on a tube. 3 bunny girls.  A midget in a batman outfit (seriously).  Two gothpunks talking about what to by from M&S for dinner.  A large willy wind chime from the first century. You know, a random day in this strange, lovely city.
On Friday I was accosted by bananas on the tube.  Yes bananas.  They were telling me where to buy Fairtrade produce in London.  Good for them.

Banananananananana

Banananananananana

Then today I dragged myself off the couch to visit the British Museum.  I’d never been.  It’s incredible!

LOTS of people

LOTS of people

The interior space is outrageously huge…and the roof is beautiful.  I was wondering around with my mouth open staring at the ceiling.  Not attractive.

Look at that GORGEOUS ceiling...

Look at that GORGEOUS ceiling...

And the stuff.   The STUFF!

LOLMummyz

LOLMummyz

The Green Man

The Green Man

Nice arse Cicero

Nice arse Cicero

You can't see really, but the one guy has a HUGE boner

You can't see really, but the one guy has a HUGE boner

Art from Africa. Made out of old guns. I'm kinda sad.

Art from Africa. Made out of old guns. I'm kinda sad.

Neigh-bours, everybody needs good neigh-bours

Neigh-bours, everybody needs good neigh-bours

Oh, this old thing?

Oh, this old thing?

Yeah baby

Yeah baby

I'd worship anelefant

I'd worship anelefant

This, particularly, made me think of the lovely Nurse Myra.  I even wrote down the card, so that she’d know what it was for!  For you Nursie…

A willy wind chime!

A willy wind chime!

Bronze Tintinabulum, Roman, 1st century AD
Objects like this were suspended in gardens where the hanging bells tinkled in the wind.  The winged Lion-phallus was believed to provide magical protection against evil and to bring good luck to the household

Walking back to the tube, I decided to lurk through the city to see one of my favourite places.  Neal’s Yard is a tiny place in Covent Garden.  It’s filled with health food places and crazy hairdressers.  I love it because it’s hidden away.  This tiny spot of calm and hippydom in bustling London.

Just down that little alley....

Just down that little alley....

Another thing I love is walking along the Thames.  The South Bank is my fav, but today it was Temple and Embankment. One of the things I really love about London are the details that show it’s an old city. Beautiful old lampposts.

Fish detail

Fish detail

Gifts from around the world, built into the architecture.

Obelix*

Obelix*

And views of the old and the new.

A sphinx and a London Eye

A sphinx and a London Eye

So, apart from noticing every hand holding, snogging pair of lovers from Wimbledon to Holborn, and missing Mr Noord with every breath, it was a good day.  Oh, and the black snot.  I forgot about the black snot.  That wasn’t so good.

*see what I did there…. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “And then the banana said hello…

  1. daisyfae says:

    loved the British Museum, but REALLY groove at The Tate Modern…

    while i thought the best use of a midget in a film was the dude in “In Brugges”, i gotta say, midget batman would get my attention.

  2. I am sooooo jealous! I would love to go to the British Museum. I love all your pictures. Thanks for taking us on this trip. Hope you are home soon with Mr. Noord.

  3. Jeanette says:

    Wish I could go there again, I love that city!

  4. nursemyra says:

    love the wind chime darlin’

  5. kyknoord says:

    What a brilliant virtual tour guide.
    Love the LOTS of people. And what you did with the obelix*. And the LOLmummy (I can haz cursez plz? kthxbai). And so forth. Sadly, the most exciting part of my day was Oatees for breakfast.

  6. hisqueen says:

    I miss being able to go to a musuem–there isn’t one anywhere near us. It takes all day and you must go alone or w/ someone who has the same slow observing walk as yourself…Uumm–lion phallus—sure it’s good luck–who ever killed the lion is lucky to be alive still..
    Going to Syria this summer…can hardly wait to see all the places that hold over 7000 yrs of history…Thank God I have a hubby who is great for walking slow in these places..

  7. Dolce says:

    @ Dais > Just wish I’d had the balls to ask him for a photo. The oddest part was that the guy he was with was in jeans and a t-shirt. I did a MASSIVE double take. Eish.

    @ Silverstar > it was gorgeous. But too much to take in. I didn’t even get to go to the exhibitions….which had a price tag. *sigh*

    @ Jents > Can you imagine Connor in a room full of priceless antiques? Whahahahahaha

    @ Nurse M > thought you might 😉 tinkle tinkle

    @ Mr Noord > *sigh* You usually have me for breakfast. 😦

    @ HisQueen > Oooh Syria – that’s going to be fascinating. Jealoussssss!

  8. Sassy Miss P says:

    Love the related posts. Seems you have the work-life balance all sorted … !
    [Are you going to Madame Tussuad’s?]

  9. daisyfae says:

    learn to shoot from the hip, dear… holding the camera waist high, aimed at the target, while casually looking off in a different direction works for me…

  10. Seraphine says:

    you are having such a grand time in london! i love the bananas, but i wish you’d gotten the photograph of the midget! oop, I mean, the little person. or at least the goth-punks. thank you for sharing the museum photographs, the british museum looks amazing. i wanna go!

  11. msbetenoir says:

    hmm. I read that last-ish sentence as “missing Mr Noord and his breath:… freudian brain slip?

    seems like you’re having touristy fun. they museums seem much bigger and better stocked there… i like the cat-gophagus. i don’t suppose they sell mini reproductions?

  12. Daemoncoder says:

    Mummycat sez: Iz heald, can take bandagez off now? Kthx

  13. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > I’ve been to the waxworks..but I’m pretty keen to see the tower!

    @ Sera > Man, I should have photo’d the little guy. He was classic.

    @ Bete > Mr Noord has very delicious breath. Mmmmm. And I’ll see if I can steal a LOLMummyz.

    @ DC > LOLing. Youz doin’ it right!

  14. Sassy Miss P says:

    Oooh, ooh, the Beefeaters, of course!

  15. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > I think they prefer The Carpet Munchers these days

Leave a Reply

