Oh what a lovely recession

Daaaahling!

Daaaahling!

I met a friend for a drink on Friday.  We found a bar in Clapham called the Peacock.  It made me laugh.  Out loud.  Not only was the interior  filled with comfy chairs, huge art deco mirrors and wonderful chandeliers, it also screened the very camp “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes” on one wall and had a large, shiny pole ready and waiting in the middle of the room.

The poster outside was the happiest part for me.  It promoted an evening of burlesque in March.  They’ve called this evening “Oh what a lovely recession!”

This made me unreasonably happy.  I love the happy disregard for the world going down the toilet.

Oh what a lovely bar.

"Oh, what a lovely poster"

"Oh, what a lovely poster"

You should see the gym scene!

You should see the gym scene!

Tagged , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Oh what a lovely recession

  1. Seraphine says:

    everyone needs a break from the awful news in the media.
    i read that film attendance is up, for the first time in years.
    it’s not because movies have suddenly gotten better.

  2. betenoir says:

    I’m bored with all the recession doom and gloom. I never earned much so I’m only slightly poorer. so now you can all SUFFER WITH ME HAHAHAHAHAHA! suckerss!

  3. kyknoord says:

    I don’t suppose The Peacock has too much to worry about. When things are bad, people drink. More, I mean.

  4. jenty says:

    Hehe, love that.

  5. Sounds like my kind of place, a bar where you can drink and watch classic movies. Much better than the “sports bars” around here with 50 sets tuned to ESPN.

  6. betenoir says:

    is clapham where one gets the clap? just wondering….

  7. Dolce says:

    @ Sera > Movies and poles, apparently!

    @ Bete > Easy tiger! I get any poorer, I can’t buy you lunch!

    @ Kyk > Pass us the whisky darlin’!

    @ Jents > I’m STILL giggling.

    @ Silverstar > Fancy going out for a drink then?

    @ Bete (again) > Here today, Gonorhea tomorrow.

  8. Pete says:

    Sounds luvverley. Blondes, poles, drink and arty movies – what recession?

  9. Dolce says:

    @ Pete > Precisely! Well, until you check your wallet the next morning!

Leave a Reply

