The lines in the sky

One of the things I forgot about living in London is how the sky is different.  There are no stars at night.  Just one or two of the brighter planets.  And lots of planes. The planes also leave vapour trails, which criss cross the sky during the day.

According to the online Britannica:

“[vapour trails or contrails are] streamers of cloud sometimes observed behind an airplane flying in clear, cold, humid air. It forms upon condensation of the water vapour produced by the combustion of fuel in the airplane engines. When the ambient relative humidity is high, the resulting ice-crystal plume may last for several hours. The trail may be distorted by the winds, and sometimes it spreads outwards to form a layer of cirrus cloud. On rare occasions, when the air is nearly saturated with water vapour, air circulation at the wing tips of an airplane may cause sufficient pressure and temperature reductions to cause cloud streamers to form.”

Right.  That should sort out those who need to know.

Either way, they’re beautiful.

no no guys...that's suppose to be D...O...L...

In other news, although some people might be a bit rude about Twitter, it’s proved itself as a place for great romance today.  Ashton Kutcher arranged to have his followers greet his wife Demi Moore with love tweets when she got up in the morning and logged on (she’s away on business).  Over 3600 tweets in the first 7 minutes and they’ve been streaming in all day.  A love wave indeed.

If you were on twitter, my love, I’d send you a love wave.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “The lines in the sky

  1. kyknoord says:

    My darling, you do realise that if I was on Twitter, then I simply wouldn’t be the curmudgeon you have grown to love? I’d be a Stepford Kyknoord or some such.

  2. Dolce says:

    @ Kyknibble > Of course, my bag of loveness! And I wouldn’t be able to talk about you behind your back anymore either. (You’re *so* hot when you’re being curmudgeonly)

  3. Sassy Miss P says:

    The African skies are what I missed when I was in Europe. We have the best sunrises and sunsets. I know it’s the dust, but man … lovely post.

  4. hisqueen says:

    When the whole eastern seaboard lost power a few years ago the sky was awesome…Very creepy the first night–so much silence..but then you remember what it must have been like for our great great grandparents,,,clear skies, shining stars, clean air..

  5. daisyfae says:

    so what you’re saying is that you want to be “twitter-pated”? like li’l Thumper from Bambi?

    or do you just wanna hang with thumper? i need a drink. think i’ll take care of that now…

  6. I think they already are ‘twitter-pated.” And we can only hope she gets home soon before this wave of sticky, gooey, lovefest spreads all over the Internets.

    Hey, great contrail pictures. It is different in the north as opposed to the south.

  7. […] La Dolce Vita put an intriguing blog post on The lines in the skyHere’s a quick excerptOne of the things I forgot about living in London is how the sky is different.  There are no stars at night.  Just one or two of the brighter planets.  And lots of planes. The planes also leave vapour trails, which criss cross the sky during the day. According to the online Britannica : “[vapour trails or contrails are] streamers of cloud sometimes observed behind an airplane flying in clear, cold, humid air. It forms upon condensation of the water vapour produced by the combustion of fuel […]

  8. robinaltman says:

    If I got 3600 messages, even if they all said, “Robin, you are the most beautiful creature in the universe”, I would kill myself.

  9. nursemyra says:

    great photo Dolce – did you take it?

  10. Daemoncoder says:

    The vapour trails over the Netherlands are pretty spectacular too and I never seem to have a wide-enough angle camera lens to do justice to what my eyes can see.

  11. Dolce says:

    @ Ms P > those big ole skies with the piled cotton wool clouds….those are my favouite.

    @ HQ > I’m hoping earth hour will deliver a little more star action

    @ Silverstar > am trying very hard not to ooooze loveness all over you guys. Promise. But sometimes it just happens.

    @ Robin > Point taken. But try telling that to my narcissistic tendencies 😉

    @ Nurse M > I did indeed, thanks Nursey. On my trusty phone. Ain’t technology grand!

    @ DC > So true. Man, I wish I had time for a quick visit to the Netherlands…my grandfather was Dutch, so any trip feels like stepping into his house again. Strangely comforting.

  12. betenoir says:

    well, it would depend on how many followers you have, but wouldn’t it be more of a lovesplash? or a lovedampcloth?

    better than being lobbed with a lovegob, mostly.

  13. Rox says:

    Aw, lovely post and beautiful picture!

  14. Dolce says:

    @ Bete > a lovedrip?

    @ Roxxxy > thanks darlin’

Leave a Reply

