London Town

Nothing thrills my blood more than a trip into central London. The bustling crowds, the centuries old architecture, the bright lights.  Black cabs and door men in top hats and coats.  The glimpses of the Thames and the towering skyscrapers dotting the skyline.  Rows of buildings with subtle plaques noting previous inhabitants; poets, authors, politicians, inventors.  Gucci and Stella McCartney, tiny alleys featuring bespoke tailors by appointment to Her Majesty the Queen, all along side cockney street vendors shouting deals and two-fer-one offers.  Every view a scene from countless novels.  Every cobbled street a glimpse into the past.  I can just imagine the passage of templar knights returned from the crusades.  The quiet plash of barge oars bearing traders up the city’s river.  The stews of Shakespeare’s South Bank.  The bombed out buildings of the Blitz.  I feel like I’m really in London.  Not another grinding city.  But a city at the centre of it all.

Picadilly picture perfect

Picadilly picture perfect

Tagged , , , ,

20 thoughts on “London Town

  1. UncleKeith says:

    I heard somewhere that “London swings like a pendulum do”…or it could have been a pentium but that doesn’t make as much sense.

  2. daisyfae says:

    your words paint a vivid picture! i can almost see Charles riding a saddled Camilla outside Madame Tussauds, while his brother Edward minces about in a tutu and dance pumps!

    • Dolce says:

      @ Flowerfairy > *splutter*…no no, Daisy…not while I’m drinking a cuppa tea. Which is now all over my keyboard and screen. Aaahahaha. A saddled Camilla. Yeeehaaa, I say.

  3. Seraphine says:

    after the shopping and wandering about, i bet the nightlife in london is amazing. i’ve heard from the subtle variants of english spoken, you can tell which neighborhood the speaker is from.

    • Dolce says:

      @ Sera > *shuffling of feet* I haven’t actually been out much. Apart from that brief moment of silliness with the microphone.

  4. robinaltman says:

    London is wonderful! I went with my parents when I was a teenager, and it seemed like all they did was shop for Wedgewood, while I sat on the floor of china stores reading Agatha Christie novels. Then I went with my husband a couple of times and just loved it. My parents were really bummed that all I remember was Wedgewood from my youth.

  5. DelBoy says:

    Ouch, now you make me homesick! After living in London for almost 15 years, your words bring back images of all the good times that I had in this magnificent city. From the Christmas shopping along Regents Street, Chinese New Year along Tottenham Court Road and turning on of the Christmas lights on Oxford Street to Sunday lunches along the bank of the Thames, summer walks around Greenwich and messy nights in the pubs and clubs of Leicester Square.

    Thank you!

    PS: I you love the history of London, make sure to visit Bath!

  6. kyknoord says:

    *sigh* the only things I’ve come across that give a hint about previous inhabitants are subtle stains.

  7. Being Brazen says:

    I used to love central London when i lived there.

    Have a great easter !

  8. OUCH!
    I’ve been bitten by the travel bug.
    Your description of the scene makes me give serious consideration to how much my job (and hubby and dog and whatever else) would miss me if I jetted away for, however long.
    Sigh.
    Keep the vicarious travel tidbits coming.

  9. I think you picked a dilly to blog about this time. Love the picture.

Leave a Reply

