One woman, one vote

Queueing to vote

Queueing to vote

Went down to London to vote today.  On the 22nd of April, South Africa goes to the polls for its third national elections since the final fall of Apartheid in 1994.

I make a point about voting.  I think it’s a pretty important public duty.  I think I kinda owe it to all the women in the world who still can’t vote.

Anyway, this vote is particularly important.  The outcome is inevitable. The ANC is the party of the people, the part of the struggle and of Mandela.  However, the ANC is currently led by a man who makes me very, very nervous.  We won’t mention his time in court since he was acquitted of the rape charge and his corruption charges have been dropped.  We’ll also ignore his rape trial statements that women wearing short skirts should be careful and that having a shower after sex with an HIV positive woman is a fairly good prophylactic.  And I won’t go into the polygamy or the homophobia, because the former is a lifestyle choice…oh and so is the latter.  Eish.

What does make me nervous is that if he gets a two thirds majority he can change the constitution.

And that would be bad.  Very very bad.  And that is why I got up very early today to take advantage of my right to vote abroad.  Along with lots of other South Africans.

Now we wait.

The golden springbok over the door of SA House

The golden springbok over the door of SA House

If you’re interestest in what some of the more controversial international press have to say about our waiting president, click here.

Or click here for how our incumbent is reacting.

Or click here for a funny, but infinitively sad statement by one of our greatest political satirists, Pieter Dirk Uys, in defence of a hilarious satirical cartoonist, Jonathon Shapiro, who is being sued by our future fearless leader.

Aaah. haha.

Aaah. haha.

__

On the plus side, once we’d done the queueing and voting, my mate and I got to lurk around London and see some of the sights.  Pictures below:

Exploring tiny back lanes

Exploring tiny back lanes

Graffiti in Covent Garden

Graffiti in Covent Garden

Van Gogh's sunflowers at the National Gallery

Van Gogh's sunflowers at the National Gallery

Pleased us enormously to find a plinth with Mandela himself on the edge of the South Bank

Pleased us enormously to find a plinth with Mandela himself on the edge of the South Bank

A Doc Martin in a heel?  *swoon*

A Doc Martin in a heel? *swoon*

The view of Nelson's column from the steps of the National Gallery

The view of Nelson's column from the steps of the National Gallery

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “One woman, one vote

  1. robinaltman says:

    Wow! That was really interesting yet a bit frightening. I’m really happy that I have a new news source, though. I’m sort of news retarded. Now I have NPR, the little blurbs when you sign onto AOL, and you! Careful. This is a grave responsibility that you neither want nor asked for.

  2. IITQ says:

    Well done Lor.

    Great to hear you’re taking your vote seriously.

    Marc

  3. kyknoord says:

    I’m not too worried about JZ. He’ll be spending most of his time in court suing those who have besmirched his “good name”, so it’ll probably be left up to someone else to get on with the job.

  4. hisqueen1 says:

    It’s hard to vote when it seems like none of them really care..I didn’t vote for years but my whining this last election pushed my hubby over the edge..He said to vote or shut up. I did, along with millions of other people who thought we didn’t matter.
    Every vote counts and then we hope for the best.
    It’s inspiring to see you vote even though you’re so far away..I guess if we do move to Syria I too could still make a difference.

  5. I’m proud of you for voting, lack of choices aside.
    Also, I think I am a fan of your blue parka.
    Additionally, I AM a fan of of the pink combat boot; impractical but want.

  6. couchtrip says:

    Well done on the voting and cool pics by the way. Also well done on the blog award! My feminine side did a little swoon at the Doc Martins. To die for doll.

  7. Pete says:

    Hi Dolce, very cool pics BTW and well done on voting. And also well done on the blog award. Richly deserved. By the way, I don’t seem to be able to leave comments anymore. This one will probably work (sod’s law) but, well, if it doesn’t then you’ll find it under Spam. Love the Docs.

    • Dolce says:

      @ Pete > it’s my silly wordpress…it’s spamming the oddest things. But I check all the time, promise! And thanks…aren’t those boots lovely…if I hadn’t already bought boots, I might be tempted to go back :mrgreen:

  8. Rox says:

    Well done chick, I’m glad people are standing up and at least giving the ANC some sort of stand.

    This is the thing, it’s not a case of an outright win at this point, it’s a case of getting a fair share to ensure that some semblance of order can be maintained.

    I’m looking forward to our voting day on Wednesday, and anyone who hasn’t registered had better have a damn good reason… or they must never dare spew their negative garbage around again!

  9. kyknoord says:

    I see the ID have put up a new batch of posters stating “Put criminals in jail, not in government” (or words to that effect). Made me smile on the way to work.

  10. While I don’t know you from a bar of soap – he is a lucky man. For anyone to write like that about someone else is a rare thing these days.

    Seems while some of us are taking nails to the face, some guys are getting the good things in life. Like Zoruuuuuumbies 😉

  11. egadfly says:

    That JZ page you linked to on the ANC website lists the following inter alia as his “current positions” (towards the bottom, under “Profile of Jacob Zuma”):

    Executive Deputy President of South Africa
    Leader of Government Business in the National Assembly
    Deputy President of the ANC
    Chairperson of the South African National Aids Council

    Stalinist denial or attention to detail deficit? Neither is particularly good news.

    It pisses me off that I didn’t know about the remote voting thing until it was too late. Next time I shall be ready.

    • Dolce says:

      @ Egad > Chair of the National Aids council…yeah…and taking showers to avoid getting HIV? *shakes head* I ask you…I ASK you. Fekkin’ joke.

  12. B says:

    Brilliant!!!

    I am so glad you voted!

    I plan to make my Cross on Wednesday and hopefully together we can stop this MADMAN!

  13. […] Tech Policy Central placed an observative post today on COMMENT: One woman, one voteHere’s a quick excerpt…of South AfricaLeader of Government Business in the National AssemblyDeputy President of the ANCChairperson of the South African National Aids… […]

  14. […] the polls.  And I’ve been thinking about it all day.  When I went up to London last week to vote, right near SA House, I saw this statue.  Humanity etched into one side. And it […]

  15. Brenden says:

    I know its frustrating, not all spam is bad though some is freakin hilarious! Check out my blog, I post all kinds of funny spam http://www.failspam.com/ if you get any good ones you should definately submit them 🙂

    Cheers,

    Brenden

Leave a Reply

