Spring Revels

The Palm House and lake

The Palm House and lake

We went for an amble at the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew. Something I’ve always wanted to do.  300 acres of gardens, treetop walk ways, hothouses, arbours, columned temples and specially created environments.  And in Spring?  A riot of colour and blossoms and fresh new green.

My mate, survivor of another London winter, refused to leave the tropical warmth of the Prince of Wales Conservatory.  I loved the Victorian splendor of the Palm House, with it’s filigreed white painted iron work and spiral staircases and walkways. I also loved the waterlilly houses.  All humid and misted. While M’s husband took some happy glee at the whole section of carnivorous plants.

But the cheeky swans gliding on a fountained lake, surrounded by a million blooming tulips and daffodils and crocuses just took my breath away.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Spring Revels

  1. daisyfae says:

    lovely pics – needed to see bright colors. it’s gray and ick-a-rific in this part of the world today….

  2. Seraphine says:

    i love the beautiful photos, dolce. i’m glad you had a good time.
    with global warming, perhaps london will soon have it’s own tropical climate too.

  3. kyknoord says:

    Beautiful. The flowers are pretty nice too.

  4. Rox says:

    Very stunning pics chick!

  5. robinaltman says:

    I wonder if Daisy lives near me in Grayland? That looks beautiful. Does the Queen do any of the gardening? Hahaha! Now that I’ve laughed, reality is probably that she’s an avid gardener but is too old and frail to do it now, and I feel like a real weenie.

    • Dolce says:

      @ Robin > surely something green must be peeking out of the ground? Or some sap rising? 😉 And I don’t the Queen actually gardens…she instructs the staff, dear.

  6. hisqueen1 says:

    Spring has finally sprung….I think Kyk called and had those all set up for you for your one year anniversary..
    very pretty pics…

  7. once again, your photos and verbiage have transported me.
    Maybe if everyone posts photos of spring flowers, spring will come.

  8. Another lovely travelogue, Miss Dolce. I shall ride on your coat-tails.

  9. gullybogan says:

    We have both a Royal Botanic Gardens and a Kew here in Melbourne, but they do not coincide with each other, so i was – for just a moment – lost in space.

    Beautiful palm house. I can smell the fecundity from here…

    • Dolce says:

      @ GullyB > I’ve been to those gardens…gorgeous too. And the palm house was nothing on the natural ferns and trees around the Rickets sanctuary in the Dandenongs…*that* was stunning.

  10. Elise says:

    I remember taking a trip to kew gardens when I was in school. The teacher lost most of the kids as soon as we were let loose. I really must go again now that I appreciate the plants. Back then we thought running through the humid sprinklers and getting wet was the funniest thing in the world. 12 year olds can be very stupid xx

  11. nursemyra says:

    wow – great shots Dolce!

  12. Grump says:

    I used to live in Kew and could visit the gardens in the evening when it was shut to the public. Loved it.
    Now in Melbourne many miles away.
    I enjoy your writing.
    Thanks x

Leave a Reply

