Burrowing

It’s hard to write, when there is so much you *don’t* want write about.  When the world seems to be going to hell in a hand basket.  Eugene.  Juju. Conversations about land reform.  Conversations about tenderpreneurism. Conversations about polarisation and pocket lining and crime and ethics. The disheartening savagery of the politicised chat rooms.  The creeping fear that an ugly minority of stick pokers and fire raisers will win the day.  That a man they’ve dubbed Kiddie Amin will burn your country to the ground before the so called leaders have even put their pants on.  And so you numb yourself on toast and tea and tits and arse.  And wonder if this is how it starts.  If there is something you could do.  What regrets you might be fostering as you pour the milk and stir.

Tagged , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Burrowing

  1. daisyfae says:

    as much as the words “wait and see” ring of passivity and apathy, sometimes, it’s the only thing to be done. right up there with “crossing fingers”, though, in the realm of feeling useful.

    after 9/11, i watched people doing whatever symbolic small gesture they could come up with – just to DO something. baking a cake in the shape of the flag probably isn’t going to help you much. but it might be tasty…

  2. Dolce says:

    I miss cake. 😦

  3. nursemyra says:

    Cake may not travel well. But I’ll send you some Tim Tams if you email me your postal address

    • Dolce says:

      Tim Tams? Om nom nom. Aaah, Ms Myra…thank you, but part of the single life will require me to get back into shape. No naughty Tams for me 😦

  4. robinaltman says:

    The whole situation is horrifying. Feel free to take a trip to Pennsylvania.

  5. beaverboosh says:

    Hey girl, missed you heaps. Sorry to hear it is a bit of a messy time! Come to London for a drink or two when you get a chance. BBx

  6. Utah is for Mormons. You can come to Washington state, and I will introduce you to all the atheists and pagans. Have to agree with Daisy Fae, though. From 2000-2008 I thought this country was going to hell in a handbasket. It still may, but I have more faith in the people running it at this moment. Some of my fellow citizens, not so much.

    • Dolce says:

      Ooooh, I love atheists.

      And ja. I’m just going to have a little faith. As much as I can scrape together will be enough.

      Did I just talk about atheists and then faith? I’m going to change my name to FenceGirl.

  7. Pete says:

    Hey there Dolcerina. Hadn’t heard that one about Kiddie Amin but it’s funny. I’m all for comforting rituals and tea and cake is a pretty good one I reckon. So what if the country’s burning hey? At least we have cake!

Leave a Reply

