Addicted

Since I am currently devoting every waking hour not already devote to work and sleep to the watching of Battlestar Galactica, I had me thinking about addiction.

I have an addictive personality, so I am generally very careful about the more alluring things like booze and gambling.  But some things just sneak up on one.

In ascending of addiction order:

5. Bras.  Ever since I found a supplier of bras that fit my mammeries in style and glorious upliftment, I’ve found myself buying more than I need. Much more.  *sigh*

(I have all the ones in the pictures, I do)

4. Pedicures.  Ever since I gave up smoking, and took up pedicures, I’ve been decidedly addicted.  Bright red toes. Soft heels.  Aaaah, the sweet bliss of the foot massage.  (Image: toes in another of my addictions, the bath)

3. Kisses.  This is hard to put in a specific order.  I would give up all the others for kisses.  But kisses is the one thing I can’t appropriate for myself without the willing participation of another. Which kinda sucks.  But there you go.

2. Sushi.  Salmon Roses.  Sashimi. Delicious little bamboo rolls.  Om nom nom.

1.  Labello Med lip salve.  Well, ok, lip balm/salve/ice in general.  I currently have 5 in my tiny handbag.  And at least 14 in the house.  Labello Med just happens to be my ‘must have’.  Seriously.  The other four?  Pffft.  Seriously, Lebello Med is my crack.  Woe betide the beeeyatch who gets between me and my med.

What about you?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Addicted

  1. daisyfae says:

    i share the bra/lingerie addiction. sadly have collections in three sizes to account for my body-size fluctuations. pedicures, too. sushi not an addiction, but more like ‘lust’. chocolate would certainly be on my list, or perhaps sweets, cakes, pies, kiddie candies and anything rife with sugar and lard (see prior mention of my body-size fluctions and do the math). other addictions? the adoration of a fine dog. there will always be a hound in my life. men may come and go, but if i need love? it comes from a four-legged slobber jockey…

    • Dolce says:

      haha – my poor breasticles have to make themselves fit as my body does it’s thing. Sometimes I have 6 boobs (two in the cup, two out the sides, two over the top) and sometimes they’re swimming in there. Eish.

  2. nursemyra says:

    Lingerie for me too and more specifically corsets. I also love boots, preferably flat, I’m not into teetering around on high heels and damaging my back and feet into the bargain.

    I’m fanatical about bargain hunting at markets and second hand shops but I hesitate to call those things addictions.

    I was addicted to the smell of Stephen, I used to love to bury my face in his chest hair or armpits or groin, breathing in his pheromones would give me such an endorphin rush. I still feel like I’m going through withdrawal at times so I undo a corner of the ziplock bag I keep his t shirt in and breathe deeply….

    • Dolce says:

      Mmmm, yes. I think the whole interwebs has spotted your penchant for corsets 🙂 And awww Myra…I’m so with you. The smell of a manly armpit. Especially of the one you love.

  3. cassey says:

    Books, have and will always be my greatest addiction…my husband comes a close second :p The best thing about some addictions is how great they makes us feel.

    • Dolce says:

      Hola! FARK – I forgot books. See – they’re so integral to my very existence, I didn’t even think of them as an addiction. More like food. Or air.

  4. $2 sushi rolls. Milo. Slippers. Headbands. My bike. and a sneaky extra, cause I know you care to know! Being able to chill out on a couch & watch dvd after crap dvd while my hyperactive partner is in some crazy part of the Outback desert!
    🙂

    • Dolce says:

      Aw, Champers – that was one of the BEST things about Oz – the $2 sushi rolls. Om nom nom. That’s where my sushi addiction started actually. Those and those incredible vietnamese rice paper rolls.

  5. Flutter says:

    In decending order of addiction:

    Ear buds – I am a complusive ear cleaner. I swear it’s to keep my ears dry but I think I just like the sensation. I’m like a puppy having it’s tummy rubbed.

    Massages – It’s no secret I’mm a massage whore. Skin on skin – nothing like it! 🙂

    Shopping – shopping for groceries, toiletries, gifts – anything!

    Pedicures – Glossy red toes and that heavenly scrub and massage. Ever since someone gave me a voucher I’m hooked!

    Floss – I over floss my teeth to the point the gum hurts. If I’m out and I can’t floss then you will find at the dinner table of some posh establishment asking for toothpicks. It ain’t pretty.

    • Dolce says:

      Since that naaaasty ear infection, I’ve never, ever touched an ear bud again. Ever. *shudder*. But I did used to love them.

      And Flutter – clearly you’re flossing for the both of us. My secret is that I don’t. At all. *hangs head in shame*

  6. kyknoord says:

    Gah! Robert Palmer earworm! Make it stooooooop!

    • Dolce says:

      Pah! At least Robert is cool. I’ve got Enrique Iglesias caterwauling in my ear hole…Baby I’m addicted, I’m outa control, you’re the drug that keeps me from dying.” Ear worm of death!

  7. queenwilly says:

    oooo, late post, but I think we could be soul mates.

    Sushi YES.
    Pedicures YES (and my French pedicurist plays the most beautiful music: Carla Bruni Sarkozy can sing!)
    Gorgeous big bras YES.
    Lip salve YES (I have a tub of extra sticky shiny red gloss in my bag at all times).

    And kisses YES YES YES YES YES (except when The King spies the sticky gloss first).

  8. queenwilly says:

    oh, and I also have 8,000 books, so maybe that counts as an addiction too (shuffles feet, confesses: half of them are SF).

    • Dolce says:

      SF? I hope you mean science fiction and not sexual frottage or seedy filth or savage fantasy?

      (shuffles feet, confesses: me too :))

Leave a Reply

