Meeting Martin le Maitre

I had an embarrassing fan girl moment this weekend.  The words “I am a HUGE fan” actually came out of my mouth.

*sigh*

I was pulling up to get some petrol, and I saw Martin Le Maitre.  There.  In the forecourt. In the flesh!

Who, I hear you ask?

I’ll get to that.*

I rolled down my window and gushed.  GUSHED.

“Hi.  Oh my.  I LOVED you in that programme.  What was it called? That one.”

Cue totally bimbo flapping of hands moment.

“Hard Copy! That’s it.  Hard Copy.  I’m a HUGE fan.”

Bless him, he grinned.  And came over an introduced himself.  Shook my hand.  I was all giggly.  Not least because I was getting that weird sense of watching myself and thinking ‘you’re a git, git, shuddup shuddup‘.

He said, “I’m down here doing a play…Waiting for Go…”

“GODOT”, I shouted, digging in my handbag like some frantic lunatic.

His eyes widened.

I pulled out a brochure for a local theatre, waving it at him.  “Look, look, I’ve got a brochure.  I’ll be going!  I can’t wait.  I LOVE Waiting for Godot!”

Martin’s smile wavered.  He stepped back.  “Great.  That’s good.  Um.  Well, lovely to meet you,” he said.**

I mentally hit my head repeatedly against a mental wall of splintery wood “doh!”

“Yeah, lovely to meet you…*ahem*….good luck, break a leg and all that”.

I drove out of the garage like I had the Imperial Deathstar on my tail.

Nothing like a dumb fan girl to make things awkward.

Although, let’s be honest,  I *am* planning a little Samuel Beckett in the next couple of weeks.  Stalk stalk***.  And it’s directed by Damon Galgut, which I hear is a good thing.

*Martin le Maitre is a local SA actor.  Notably for me, he played Ivan Ferris in a local TV drama series called Hard Copy, which followed the trails and tribulations of the newsroom staff of a busy, but failing newspaper.  Ivan was a curmudgeonly, hardnosed journo, with a drinking problem and a soft heart.  I had a big crush.  The show was ace.  Well written.  Funny in all the right, dark places.  Clever.  But short lived (as is most good TV in SA ).

Did I mention I’m a fan?

**I’m being ungenerous – he was actually really sweet.  I’m sure I just imagined the look of panic in his eye!

***Stalking in the most gentle sense.  He also has a lovely family and appears to be rather nice, for an h’actor!

18 thoughts on “Meeting Martin le Maitre

  1. lamourdemere says:

    I carried a watermelon !

  2. daisyfae says:

    you need to show up outside the stage door. at least three or four times. just flap and smile… actors LOVE it when fangirls do it….

  3. nursemyra says:

    I love my funny in all the right dark places too

  4. Pete says:

    Hey, good to hear you’re back in town and going off to the theatre. Galgut directing Beckett should be good. Did you see any of Andrew Buckland doing his Ugly Noonoo etc? And good to see you blogging again. I’m sure Martin LM was very happy to have such an enthusiastic fan (and possibly a little intimidated as well by the sounds of it!)

    • Dolce says:

      I didn’t see the buckland, sadly. But I am going to De Rosenkavelier. YAY! How’s the new romance? Nudge nudge wink wink?

  5. kyknoord says:

    Trust me, no matter what they say, h’ackTORs prefer gush to indifference.

  6. What’s better than a brush with celebrity? Not much, really. That’s one of the things that’s so great about New York. You can see a celebrity in their natural habitat. Last week I saw the actor/heartthrob James Franco in the Museum of Modern Art. The show within the show.

    I saw a full-blown Broadway production of WAITING FOR GODOT last season. Fantastic. People mistakenly think it’s a play about nothing. The truth is, it’s a barrel of laughs.

    • Dolce says:

      I just love the theeeAAAtar darlin’…anything. I’ll go to student productions filled with angst and bad nudity. Bring. It. ON. That said, one of the best ‘by accident’ shows I saw was in NY – Midsummer’s Night Dream on rollerskates. Awesome!

  7. see, I think it’s cute that you got all a-flutter.

  8. thegnukid says:

    be sure to have a gift at the door as well… a hotel key or some such is always a nice thought for actors…

  9. Flutter says:

    I once wanted to go up to Percy Mongomery at a restuarant in Camps Bay and chat to him after he’d won his 100th cap for SA. My friends stopped me on account of the drool running down my chin. Apparently the nervous giggle and froth coming out of my mouth was quite off putting too.

Leave a Reply

