Unexpected

Cheers! (eye contact! eye contact!)

Aaah.  So when I told people I’d be travelling half way across the world to meet two women from the interwebs on the isle of Lesbos in Greece, I got some pretty strange responses.

At best, people politely asked me if that was wise.  At worst they hooted with laughter and asked me if I was mental.  The short answer is yes.  I am both wise* and mental.  And I also believe that even if you are a consummate psychopath, blogging for 3 years will reveal many parts of yourself, and the parts I’d seen of Nurse Myra and DaisyFae, I liked.  Even the raw, sad, mad and bad bits. In fact, some of those bits I liked the best.  Because they mirrored my sad, mad and bad bits.

So I booked.  And found myself on the other side of the world having adventures with the most amazing woman.  Strong, beautiful, generous, kind, caring women.  Wicked, delicious, crazy, fabulous women.  Women who are now not just my blogging buddies, but now also my friends.

We talked a lot.  But we also spent time in a comfortable silence.  And there was no tension or cattiness or awkwardness.  Which, to be honest, surprised me.  Chicks in close quarters can be scary.  But not us.  I think part of that was the kind of instant ‘I know you’ feeling we all had, one part from having read each other’s innermost thoughts for 3 years, and one part because of that ‘wise’ bit, gut instinct, recognition – we kinda just knew it was going to be good.  Better than good.  Fab!  And we came with no expectations and no judgement.

So in the spirit of the last two weeks, here are 10 unexpected things, happenings and discoveries, some of which made me laugh, some which made my eyes pop out of my head, all of which made me love these women.  9 are true.  1 is not.  Guess the right combo, and I’ll send you a present**.

  1. one of us crawled into bed with Daisy within the first couple of days
  2. one of us snores like a tractor
  3. one of us can make scary-good animal noises
  4. one of us one of kissed a Lesbos girl…and she liked it
  5. one of us pranced around the beach buck naked every day
  6. one of us was a lightweight, and was in bed by 9.30 almost every night
  7. one of us used hand gestures to illustrate the mechanics of female ejaculation in the shadow of the Parthenon, in front of the tourists
  8. one of us is a goat whisperer
  9. one of us is a ‘greek’ virgin
  10. one of us gets giggly-pissed on 2 drinks

Dais, Myra; thank you.  What an absolutely cracking holiday.  I can’t wait to do it again.

Now pass me the zucchini flowers, and let’s talk about peni.

*there are two things ye should know about Dolce…

**terms and conditions apply.  Like the present might not actually be real.  And stuff.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “Unexpected

  1. daisyfae says:

    Waaaaah! You managed to make me cry, and then laugh like a loon, within a few seconds! And sorry about that ‘eye popping’ moment – i didn’t see it coming either!

  2. Tammy McLeod says:

    What a lovely time you had! I love that you got along in silence as well as the splendor of gab. And I think you are both wise and crazy. What fun!

  3. Dolce says:

    Oh, and one more —> one of us shrieks like a girl when accosted by bugs. Hilarious!

  4. thegnukid says:

    sadly, i must excuse myself from the contest…just wouldn’t be fair and all. very glad you joined in the fun. i still have my application in for ‘cabana boy’ for a future adventure. would appreciate your endorsement!

  5. Rob says:

    Isn’t it interesting that a relatively new technology like the internet has enabled people to meet and know each other, something which would likely have never happened 20 or more years ago?

    Glad you decided to “take the plunge”, especially since it turned out so well for you. Leading up to your decision to go, it seemed like this was the very thing you needed at this point in time.

    It was a hoot following you three’s adventures via photos!

    Contest entry? I’ll guess that #6 is not true.

    8)

    • Dolce says:

      It was rather uncanny how much we already knew about each other…felt more like old friends meeting up, rather than new ones meeting for the first time.

      and nope, nice try!

  6. kyknoord says:

    Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition.

  7. This is quite tricky …… although I’d like to think it was true …… I’m going for number 5 ……

    I’ve met 4 people from the Interweave – all lovely – all goddesses except one ….. smashing

    • Dolce says:

      Oh Daddy…number 5 is true. And the other two were half naked most of the time. Shocking, I tell you, shocking!

      Yeah, I’ve met a mixed bag of interwebs folk – these two were a real find 🙂

  8. egadfly says:

    Well, thank goodness you didn’t get axe murdered by those crazies from the intertubes! Digital people can be very dangerous when allowed near actual humans, you know.

    And I am delighted you had a delightful time. My guess is 4., cos it’s such a cliche… Alternatively, it’s a trick question, all are true.

  9. nursemyra says:

    Even I don’t know which one is the false thing. There are three items up there I’m not sure about – but I recognise the ones that are about me. *blush*

  10. SheBee says:

    I bet the early bird 9.30 thing is false.

    Meeting interweb friendlies is the best, it’s how I found my bff Cath and we ended up living together.

    So happy you had a successful holiday. The in joke’s are frustrating for us on the outer circle, but just shows what a good time you had.

    xx

  11. sounds like too much fun! Although I must say you are brave. I am awkward around new people when I’m not drunk.

  12. tNb says:

    Only a complete nutter would travel halfway around the world to meet someone from the Internet.
    😉

    • Dolce says:

      Aye! One times nutter at your service (and it’s not the first time either! But that’s a blog for another day).

    • Flutter says:

      Erm.. been there done that! You can call me Ms Super Nutter.

      Glad you have a great holiday Dolce. Pics look fab!!! Especially the nosh.
      Must. Go. To. Greece!

      • Dolce says:

        Who did you go to meet chica? And it was fabulous. I need another one. With more nosh. You just CANNOT get food like that. *sigh*

        Must.Go.Back!

  13. I’m not sure what a “greek” virgin is. I’ve met a lot of goats and I was unaware that they were able to be whispered. My guess was #10.

    It does sound like you had a wonderful wonderful time. I’m available to be the House Massage Therapist on your next jaunt. . .

    • Dolce says:

      HMH! Welcome. I have enormous respect for massagey peoples – because I luuuuuuuuuuuurrrrveeee massages. Any time you want to come as resident therapist! Any time!

      And number 10 – true as the day!

  14. […] Netherlands, nutters, windmills A kind commenter recently noted that only a nutter would travel halfway around the world to meet peoples from the interwebs. This statement is not devoid of fact. But the truth of the […]

Leave a Reply

