Perspective

Perspective is an interesting thing.  Things emerge against the backdrop of it all.  You ask yourself how you missed it.  How you could be so happily naïve.  Because it was fairly obvious.  Telling in the smalls things.  No planning of a shared future.  No dreaming. No moments of imagining.  No shaping of what could be.  But that’s ok.  It really is. Because right from the start I knew what I was in for.  I just wish I’d listened. Paid a little more attention.  Spent a little more time hearing you and a little less time hearing me.  And ultimately, in the context of it all.  I know.  I know even this is naïve. That it was always more complicated than that.  But somewhere along the line my heart stopped hoping.  Hoping for more, hoping for a partner in the grand adventure of it all. And then it was too late.  Too late to change the unspoken things.  All too late to mend the things so loudly unsaid.  And so it is.

13 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. And so it is now. Not as it will be forever. Silly. Everybody knows that.

  2. daisyfae says:

    i use something much more destructive – ‘revisionist emotional history’. this seems far more healthy. patience. time. throwing yourself into something positive. repeat as necessary.

  3. Rob says:

    I have learned that, unless someone has died, it’s never too late.

    But, it is easy to get giddy and lost in the shiny new. Easy to avoid the future and focus on the now.

    We (usually) get better at the long view with age and experience. When you have expectations, you must voice them. No one can read your mind.

  4. nursemyra says:

    Hang in there honey xx

  5. kono says:

    Perspective pisses me off, only helps to remind me of what an idiot i am. Go with Daisy, Revisionist Emotional History, or as a wise woman once said, there’s nothing to do but get up and try again.

  6. I’m reminded of the song “It’s Too Late” by Carole King, who is left feeling like a fool. But I think there’s truth in the last verse:

    “There’ll be good times again for me and you
    But we just can’t stay together, don’t you feel it too?
    Still I’m glad for what we had, and how I once loved you.”

    Be well, Ms. Dolce. Better days are just around the corner.

  7. Flutter says:

    Blast! If only “perspective” came with foresight and instead of hindsight.

Leave a Reply

