Night hours

 

This could become a problem.  The dreams.  Vivid, technicolour dreams.  Last night’s a train, and a backpack.  And your words etched in pen on a mirror, for some reason.  The words taken right from my saddest place.  Saturday’s?  Long, slow kisses. The week before?  A conversation on a precipice.  Rambling words rusting in the moonlight.  The dreams.  Like ghosts.  Not every night.  But often.  More than you’d expect.  There you are.  Talking to me.  Touching me.  In the shifting spaces.  Between one place and another.  And I wonder when you’ll go.  Let me go.  Let me sleep.

29 thoughts on “Night hours

  1. Rob says:

    I almost never have dreams. And when I do dream, it’s rare that I remember it. I’m not sure if it’s a curse or a blessing. I treat it as the latter.

    Melatonin is a good, temporary way to get some sleep. I wonder where those old sayings: “Pleasant dreams” and “Sweet dreams” originated? Is it correct to wish someone, “Have no dreams”?

    • Dolce says:

      I ❤ melatonin. Recently discovered and very, very useful. And the strange thing is that I don't usually dream. But when I do, it's like a haunting. The same things, the same shapes, the same themes again and again and again and again. Fucking annoying subconscious. Like a bully with a stick. When I was a child, I dreamt my teeth fell out. I must have dreamt that dream a thousand times. Then I worked out what it was about, and I stopped dreaming it. I thought I had this one all worked out. But still the dreams come.

  2. daisyfae says:

    lesser and lesser with each passing month, i hope. and correct me if i’m wrong, but the ‘critter’ in your dreams? wasn’t he a bit better looking than the one in the portrait?

    • Dolce says:

      You know I’ve always loved this painting. By Henry Fuseli. It’s called the Nightmare. And I kinda like the irony here. The pendulum swing of succubi. Janis in the deep. I donno Dais. There’s no lessening. To be honest, I think I might be going a little mad. But that could just be the flu.

  3. twin says:

    Do you record/write down your dreams? They sound intriguing….

    • Dolce says:

      I tried that once. But it was like trying to catch fog. Too insubstantial in the waking. I wish there was some kind of dream recorder you could stick in your head. But maybe that would be too much; being confronted with the strange reality of one’s twisted, shifting dream-self.

  4. nursemyra says:

    Oh darling……. And is it really all too late?

  5. Rox says:

    I am also cursed with vivid dreams. I still remember the dream I had when I was a very small child, of Cavendish Square on fire and canaries flying through the flames and smoke… it is etched in my brain. Oh and the one where my dad was battling a wild women in animals skins, in a Knysna cave was also pretty memorable.

    Wish there was a pill one could take to choose the type of dreams you want. Pink pill for nice happy dreams about otters and kittens, clouds, chocolate and unicorns. Pale blue pill for dreams about swimming in the sea or underwater. Yellow pills for dreams about sunshine and daisies. We could do like we do with green jellytots and avoid the ones we don’t like.

    The next best thing is to get a dream dictionary and try and ‘decode’ some of those symbols. You might be pleasantly surprised what some of them mean.

    *hugs*

  6. I dream yet never remember them. Just a vague sense of either dread or embarrassment. Sometimes I think that is better than your situation.

  7. That’s a nice paragraph, dear. And that’s one of my favorite paintings, to boot. Love the look on his face. I never dream unless I’m medicated.

  8. That painting has always scared me ….. *shudder*

    BTW my dreams are always defined as ‘bizarre’ by the terrible Goddess – they always make perfect sense to me though …..

  9. Keep with the therapy, and eventually the dreams will fade away.

  10. “…every couple nights or so, you know you pop into my dreams. Seems I can’t get rid of you like you got rid of me…” (Fair, Ben Folds Five: http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/36/)

    Dreams are the most sacred of places and yet “they” invade them without apology.

    Ah, our bosoming is growing.

  11. hisqueen says:

    Now that I take stuff to help me sleep, I rarely dream…The scariest dreams I have are usually shark or snake related. I wake up crying with cold sweats, lying as still as I can while I assess exactly how many sharks/snakes are in bed with me. Never did find any.
    The worst dreams I have are the ones involving plane crashes. Usually I have them a few days before a true major airline disaster. I remember waking up when I was about 7 or 8 and telling my dad to stop the plane. I truly tried to convince him to stop the plane but I didn’t know which one or where..I told him if it crashes he has to tell them to find the baby..When it happened..it was huge and they did find one lone survivor..a baby. My father was a bit scared of me for a few days but luckily he got over it. Not ever plane disaster but just enough of them to scare me when I do dream of them..
    Here’s hoping your dreams become sweeter with time.

    Love the picture.

  12. nursemyra says:

    As The Panics say, “If it makes you scared, don’t go to sleep with her (him) in your head”

  13. Dreams. The brain’s way of working on problems. I don’t suppose you will find this very comforting, but I still dream about my first husband, and I haven’t been with him for 28 years. However, the dreams no longer make me sad and bereft. Now it is more like “What in the world is HE doing here?”

Leave a Reply

