Home sweet home

How much life can be lived between four walls and five years?  Builders and late night natters with neighbours.  Champagne welcomes.  The L Word with the L gals.  Melrose Place, including psychopath.  Nathe (my Nathe).  The garden furniture incident.  The midnight tirades.  SMSing the coppers.  One braai (yup, just the one).  Lots of small dogs. Guns and roses.  Literally.  A large amount of wine.  Getting to know the Dominnee.  Dinner parties and bookclub.  Shared secrets.  Joy.  The night the rain came.  The baby bird.  The sushi (oh, god, the sushi). Three…and a half….lovers.  One thoroughly fucked up heart.  A thousand DVDs.  Cooking soup on cold winters nights.  Lanterns in summer.  The palm Sunday ritual.  Love in the afternoon leaf light.  Photo shoots and boob schmooshes. The friend who came for three weeks and stayed a year. Lots and lots of tea.  And smoothies.  Hundreds of blog posts.  Hundreds of books.  Hippies and muggers.  Lock up and go.  A World Cup.  A resident black dog.  A refuge.  A sanctuary. 

My home.

On Sunday I handed over the keys of my first home to its new owners.

I’ll miss you, Camden Square.  So long, and thanks for all the fish.

21 thoughts on “Home sweet home

  1. We’ve moved too many times to remember. That photo has reminded me to throw away all the keys that have accumulated over the years …… or start a new career as a bungling burglar ….

    • Dolce says:

      I had a box of keys I eventually threw away. I was going to make some kind of art out of them, but that’s frikkin’ highly unlikely. But I like the idea of keeping keys. They kinda feel like a mystery. All the things they could open, but you’ve forgotten which ones.

  2. nursemyra says:

    New year, new beginning….. xx

  3. That’s a bittersweet post. Nicely, done, hon.

    Life is a series of hellos and good-byes
    I’m afraid it’s time for good-bye again.

  4. daisyfae says:

    i was in my last home 20 years. my heart still aches a little when i drive by… but i love seeing the new swingset in the back yard, and toys out, as there are small children there again. as there should be…

  5. kono says:

    Eloquent and bittersweet. I may move soon, out of the city and into the burbs, i know that when i drive by my old apts. i get nostalgic god knows what i’ll feel when i drive by my current possibly soon to be old house. cheers and good luck.

    • Dolce says:

      my childhood home was demolished, and a church (on the irony) was built in it’s place. So I am not even remotely tempted to do the nostalgia drive by. But there are always places that haunt you a little. Sometimes good, sometimes not so much.

  6. stephanie says:

    were you able to leave some of the sads there?
    I hope there’ll be plenty of happys at The New Casa Del Dolce.

  7. It is those half-lovers which do it everytime!

  8. DelBoy says:

    Home is where the heart is Dolce, not a physical place and stuff.

    I have lived in 28 different homes since leaving school 23 years ago. And the next time I move will be my last!

    • Dolce says:

      Eep, dude. That’s a bit mental. I did a lot of moving in my varsity years, and when I moved into Camden, I thought I’d stay there forever. And yet, here I am….

      I hope you find a place to settle into.

  9. Rob says:

    Five years is probably longer than I spent in any one “home”. Until the one I’m now, which is coming up on 15 years. I doubt I could summarize the time quite as nicely as you’ve done on five years, though.

    Change is good.

  10. hisqueen says:

    I hate to move..I’ve moved 8 times in 10 yrs. We have decided our next move will be our last. We are staying put until it’s time to move to one of the Gulf States. (Qatar, UAE or home to Syria) Which ever it will be..it’s the last move I want to make. I’m getting too old to keep moving.
    Hope your getting settled in and all the bruises are fading to that lovely greenish/yellow color.

  11. This makes me want to both move and stay put. Oh, conflicting emotions.

  12. Pete says:

    Camden Square – I remember it well! And very well said with all that eloquent bittersweet stuff. And congrats to you on making the change. I hate moving but it’s definitely worth it in the end. Viva The New Casa Del Dolce!

Leave a Reply

