The White Yak

In the theme of feeling loved (and running out of fingers and toes with which to count my blessings), this week the inimitable Nurse Myra (my Nursie), surprised me with a love package.  A little antipodean parcel of happiness and glee.

In it was this card.  And on the card was this note in the fair hand of Nurse M herself:

“If you meet the white yak of depression, reach out and pat him on the nose”.

Cue gooseflesh and welling eyes.

Aren’t I blessed?

Nursie, I love you too. Thank you.

PS in other news, *grin*, the grey has lifted (mostly).  In fact, there have been large patches of glee.  I can’t begin to explain how joyous it is to have the glee back.  It makes more glee.  And before I know it, I’m grinning like a loon at the mountain, some flowers, the driver in the car next to me.  But with it, the libido. has returned.  Like sap in spring.  Like high tide.  Like the building clouds of a thunderstorm. Uh oh.  With no outlet, expect bad erotica soon.

Tagged , , ,

18 thoughts on “The White Yak

  1. daisyfae says:

    That is lovely! Shall i buy stock in the South African Battery companies this week?

  2. kono says:

    Me loves a returning libido…

  3. I’ve been looking for mine, I’m not sure where it went but I think 58 has something to do with it. However, I am not depressed about it.

    so glad you are feeling better. Glee is good. Savor it. Looking forward to the erotica, maybe that will help with the hiding libido.

    • Dolce says:

      My friend and I were talking about that the other day. She didn’t know that menopause often brings an end to libido (what a keen reminder that we are products of our evolutionary/biological imperative). We both pondered if we would be content or not with the loss of such a fab (but vexing) urge. Closer investigation reveals advancements in the…ahem…re-ignition of desire in post-menopausal women. But..we wondered…would we want to. And left the discussion as something we couldn’t answer until we got there. And agreed to talk about it when we were that age (what a glorious comfort that my buddy of bosom will be there for that journey too, the universe willing).

      As for the erotica. Eish. It’s not good. But it’s good fun.

  4. thegnukid says:

    give that yak a smooch while you’re at it. and don’t forget the other animals…like gnus!! ;->

    • Dolce says:

      My beloved gnu. Have you ever come across this? I’m sure you have, but just in case. It’s one of my absolute favourites and one of the reasons I’m SO fond of you.

      *grin*

  5. nursemyra says:

    I’ll always treasure our Lesbos interlude darlin’ xx

    • Dolce says:

      you have NO idea. Where are we going next? Tuscana still a thought?

      • kono says:

        One of only two places on National Geographic’s places to visit located in America… “a natural setting that rivals Lisbon and San Francisco, a wealth of fine art and architecture, and a quirky sense of humor.” I’m sure Daisy knows how to get here.

  6. Next time I’m accused of yakking I’ll say it’s therapy … simples!

  7. I saw a white squirrel today. Not metaphorical. An actual white squirrel. If depression is a white yak, then perhaps a white squirrel is its cousin, discontent.

  8. robinaltman says:

    I’m so happy for you! Bad yak. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a yak. Is it like a buffalo? Not that I haven’t been depressed, though. My depression is more like a moray eel. Evil teeth.

Leave a Reply

